Page 28 of 38 FirstFirst ... 1825262728293031 ... LastLast
Results 406 to 420 of 562

Thread: [Download] Vista Hide 'n Seek BETA

  1. #406
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8

    Default Strange

    CG

    Before installing HNS on my new pc with Server 2008 and 2x XP Pro 64 bit I tried it in a virtual machine (VmWare server 2 which runs on Server 2008).
    The virtual machine is configured as follows:
    one scsi(0:0) drive wich is the first boot drive and contains Vista 32 bit (drive C: in Vista)
    one ide(0:0) drive which contains XP32 bit (drive E: in Vista)
    one ide(0:1) drive which contains XP32 bit (drive F: in Vista)
    one scsi(0:1) drive for data (drive D: in Vista)

    first I tested by changing the bios boot order. I could boot in Vista and every XP.

    Second test ==> Installation of EasyBCD 1.7.2 and HNS (61)
    configered C: drive as Vista and E: and F: as XP with option to hide Vista.
    I could boot in Vista and XP drive E: (ide(0:0)) but not in XP which is on drive F: (ide(0:1))
    Error:
    Invalid BOOT.ini file
    Booting from C:\windows
    NTDETECT failed
    (menu chown again)

    Next I tested by changing disk and rdisk values in BOOT.INI with no result
    I also changed the F: disk in vmware as ide(1:0) ===> same error
    I swapped E: and F: [ F: now on ide(0:0)] ===> XP on F: boots but XP on E: not
    It seems that only the XP on the primary master disk boots, not primary slave nor secundary master disk.

    In the last test (without hope) I changed the disk boot order in the bios.
    Instead of booting in the vista drive (scsi) i changed the Primary ide master as boot drive.

    O wonder : I can boot into Vista and each XP.

    Changing the primary ide Slave gives the same good result.

    Is there an explanation for this???

    André

  2. #407
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    562

     

    One item to note on your setup there is seeing Vista on a SCSI drive likely seeing a controller while two editions of XP are on ide drives. As a rule EIDE will override other drive types like Sata, RAID, SCSI. I ran into that on the last build here seeing two ide drives along with two sata HDs.

    When Vista first came and I came across EasyBCD I had XP Home on the 1st ide, Vista replaced XP Pro on the second ide there, and then saw XP Pro on the first sata with the other strictly for storage. The multiboot worked by simply starting off seeing each installation set up as stand alone OSs and then proceeding to add the entrie in the Vista boot loader as well as the mbr copying the boot.ini and other XP boot files over and editing the boot.ini for each copy of XP.

    Since you are using SCSI with or without a controller card you might be better off seeing Vista on the first ide drive followed by one edition of XP on the second and other on the current OSed SCSI. With two editions of XP installing Vista last would see those added into Vista's own boot loader where you would then see HnS and EasyBCD work.

    Each copy of Windows being installed initially as stand alone will see itself as C not D or E when booted into that installation. In simple terms unplug one XP drive while installing the other edition and then allow the Vista installer to perform the detection and entries followed by seeing the two Vista tools put on after. The Vista drive would then be the primary host drive.

  3. #408
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20

     

    UI screen only shows Vista. I hid the 2 other XP partitions, but I thought that I would be given a choice of OS partitions to boot.

  4. #409
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,468

     

    Don't understand what you mean Rosita.
    You don't hide XP from Vista, you hide Vista from XP.
    XP resets Vista's restore points, Vista does no harm to XP.

    In UI.exe you say which disk(s) contain Vista restore points (1 click), and which disk(s) contain bootable XP systems (2 clicks), then HnS creates a boot process for you with an entry for each system(Vista or XP), and hides Vista each time you select an XP, and unhides Vista each time you select it.

    Have you already hidden the XP disk(s) before you ran UI ? HnS is supposed to do the hiding for you.
    It can't create a boot for something it doesn't even know is there !
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  5. #410
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    562

     

    That's understating it too! You want XP and other OSs visible in the Vista boot loader or like what was seen here an option for each seen in the HnS tool as well as when booted in Windows. When booted in XP any Vista primary/drive simply isn't seen in Windows Explorer keeping the Vista restore points out of harm's way.

    Now you will start over fresh along with copying the necessary boot files from the other installations to root of the Vista primary in order to have them seen as options in the Vista boot loader with the help of EasyBCD while keeping Vista as the default OS in the HnS tool itself. You can change which will be default later in EasyBCD there and still hide Vista from the others.

  6. #411
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20

     

    How do I uninstall Beta UI from Vista Ultimate?

  7. #412
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,468

     

    HnS isn't "installed" as such, so you can't find it in the "remove programs" list.
    It's just run from where you downloaded it to ,and it takes over the boot process by renaming the normal bootmanager and substituting itself as the top bootloader. It then calls the normal boot loaders for the XP and Vista systems after hiding or unhiding partitions as appropriate.
    To get rid of it, you just run it again and choose the great big "uninstall" button on the first screen. It will then rename the Vista bootmanager to put it back in control, and delete its own files.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  8. #413
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20

     

    Thanks, I uninstalled it with no problem. I did not know where the directions were, but I found them.
    I am used to Partition Magic and BootMagic. Never had a problem with changing partitions untill Vista appeared. The above programs hid any of the OS partitions that were not used.
    The reason I uninstalled was that I could only see Vista.
    Other than that, the boot screen could be smaller and offer to unhide partitions.

    I have ran WXP repair through the console only to make things worse. Now, I get up to the WXP logo, and stops there. FIrst the full page logo loads, and then the smal one, plus the mouse cursor. Nothing works at that point. I might have selected the wrong partition, but I was very careful no to. Also, the boot list loads twice. Fortunatelly, Vista still loads.
    Any way to go back or fix the problem?

    Addendum:

    I do not understand about unplugging a drive. Why? I have all the OS partitions in one drive, and the other drive is for data and other purposes.
    So, what are the exact steps to get this fixed ? What is the boot.ini content? I have 2 WXP and 1 Vista. WXP was were installed first.
    Last edited by Rosita; October 25th, 2008 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

  9. #414
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,468

     

    copy/paste your C:\boot.ini into your next post and attach a screenshot of your disk management display. (click the "go advanced" button below the quick reply window, and use the paperclip to upload an attachment), and we'll take a look at what's going wrong.

    You will always get 2 boot menus with multiple XPs when dual-booted through Vista.
    Vista bootmgr calls Winload.exe from the Vista Windows folder to load Vista, but calls NTLDR when you select XP.
    It's NTLDR which then reads boot.ini and creates another menu with a choice of all the XP's mentioned.

    This 2-stage process happens all the time, even with a single XP; it's just that you don't see the second menu because NTLDR will load the single choice without displaying a menu when there's nothing else to offer as a choice.

    HnS places itself before bootmgr and handles the links to XP itself, so it will avoid having 2 menus.
    The logic if you're interested is sketched in a previous post in this thread

    The comment about unplugging drives obviously doesn't apply to anyone with all the systems on the same disk.
    Last edited by Terry60; October 25th, 2008 at 07:24 PM.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  10. #415
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    562

     

    With the HnS tool here I simply right click on the UI.exe file and choose the create shortcut option and drag that to the deslktop in order to simply installation as well as simply using the same right click for deletion when a new build has become available. I simply renamed the current build #61 to BUILD61 rather then seeing "shortcut to ui.exe".

    Due to problems getting a few tuner cards to work in Vista lately however forcing a reinstall of Vista this time around not XP I have to fix the invalid boot.ini error when retrying to add XP in. When accustomed to seeing the HnS rather then EasyBCD screen a new "unhandled exception" error is coming up.

    Last edited by PC eye; October 25th, 2008 at 10:36 PM.

  11. #416
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20

     

    I now see Vista boot, so I changed EBCD OS settings. If the settings are OK, I'll risk another trial to change partitions.
    Here are the contents of boot.ini in Vista. I cannot load WXP installations, but unless it changed it each had a boot.ini file.
    [boot loader]
    timeout=20
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="wxpSPTest" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\BOOTWIZ\8788ed8c\WINDOWS="WXSP2" /FASTDETECT
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Windows XP" /Fastdetect
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Rosita; October 26th, 2008 at 05:55 PM.

  12. #417
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,468

     

    Can you attach the disk management screenshot too. I can't tell whether your boot.ini is likely to be right without comparing it to your HDD configuration.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  13. #418
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Short of a screenshot, I can't even tell what those first two entries under [operating systems] are for. But anyway, try changing ...partition(2)... in default= under [boot loader] to ...partition(1)... so that it matches the only valid entry from what I can see under [operating systems]

  14. #419
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    20

     

    Here is Disk Management screenshot, but the disk order seems to be wrong. Maxtor DIsk 0, a PATA drive should be the one with the OSes, while disk1 should be the one for the data and other content, a SATA drive
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Rosita; October 26th, 2008 at 09:19 PM.

  15. #420
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Its mixed up because you're using an IDE drive. IDE drives come before SATA regardless of the physical setup. I still cannot tell from your labels which partition houses XP (My best guess is disk 0, partition 5. If that's the case, another problem you might be having here is that it is a logical partition. Windows (Prior to Vista) can run on logical partitions, but for the most part only work on primary partitions. It basically works or doesn't. I mean we can try editing boot.ini some more, but it may still not work because of that. Anyway, try ...rdisk(0)partition(5)... for default and adjust the XP entry under [operating systems] to be the same.

Similar Threads

  1. [Download] UAC-Free iReboot BETA
    By Computer Guru in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 127
    Last Post: March 27th, 2010, 05:04 AM
  2. "Vista Hide 'n Seek has stopped working"
    By radical5 in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 18th, 2009, 12:09 AM
  3. Easy BCD and Hide 'n Seek
    By BILL440 in forum Other NeoSmart-Related Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 13th, 2009, 08:14 PM
  4. XP after Vista but need to hide
    By archerboy in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 16th, 2009, 12:07 AM
  5. Hide Vista from XP - Neogrub hd(0,0)
    By jcuticchia in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 11th, 2008, 11:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •