Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Undo bios upgrade??

  1. #1

    Default Undo bios upgrade??

    Have a Toshiba P300-SE308C, bought may 2008.
    Went to Toshiba site yesterday to see if there were any upgrades. They had about 7 of them, which I downloaded and installed OK. The last of the updates I installed was a BIOS upgrade, from V2.70 to V 3.90. Followed instructions exactly. When computer automatically restarted it did so in SAFE Mode. Did Repair options, i.e. Repair to last good configuration; Start up repair; F12 Set up, reset to default settings.
    Still starts in SAFE MODE. Any one have any ideas

    Thanks

  2. #2

     

    Windows repair options don't touch the BIOS. Typical BIOS upgrade utils include the ability to save off the current BIOS to a file or to an external device (diskette, USB). I'm guessing you did NOT do that or you would not be asking how to get it back.

    Some systems have dual-BIOS feature which will allow you to select the other BIOS. You would have to check your computer documentation to see if you have that.

    Otherwise, the only option is to download the older BIOS and flash that.

  3. #3

     

    Before i flashed it asked to replace, or to save old bios and replace.
    I choose the latter, and it showed the name of the file where the old bios was saved. Cant remember the file name though, should have written it down.@#$%^&*(

    Addendum:

    OK, ran the bios upgrade again, but did not flash it as I just wanted to find the back up file name.
    On system search found back up file, new file and flash text doc. Back up file did not open, choose 'let windows find file to open with on net'. did not show, but some suggestions were to just rename file by taken ext (bak)off. not sure, i'll keep puddling around
    Last edited by problem; March 17th, 2009 at 11:59 AM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    Hi problem, welcome to NST.

    The BIOS really has nothing to do with whether or not Windows starts in safe mode. So long as your computer starts up at all, then something else is the problem.

    Addendum:

    Thread moved.
    Last edited by Computer Guru; March 17th, 2009 at 12:19 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  5. #5

     

    OK thanks, but if that is the case, why do I still start in SAFE, after I restored to a previous restore point before i did the update.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    What happens if you try to boot in normal mode?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  7. #7

     

    Cant boot normal, automatically boots in safe mode, no matter what.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    It may automatically boot in safe mode, but before it loads it'll show a message asking you which mode to boot into (even if only for a matter of seconds).
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  9. #9

     

    No sorry, nut never asks me anything.
    But thanks for your remark "what happens if you try to boot in normal mode".
    Made me think about system settings.
    Somehow when I installed the updates the settings must have been changed.
    They were set for selective start up and minimal boot settings.
    Changed settings and now I am up and running.
    Just have to install the updates again.
    The updated bios is still in there, so thats OK.
    Thanks Guru for the reply.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    ah... msconfig.exe?

    Glad it worked you got it working
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Yeah msconfig

    But why the boot settings were changed. I don't think an update could be causing that...

  12. #12

     

    Yep, wonder about that too. now that everything is fine, i went back into msconfig and under General tab again Selective startup is check marked plus load system services and load startup items. Going to the Boot tab nothing is check marked(which is OK). Now when i go back to General tab and uncheck Selective startup and check Normal start up, click apply then go back to Boot tab, again under boot options, Safe boot is checkmarked plus Minimal.Undo these check marks, go back to General tab and again Selective start up is checked(all by it self)
    Even though all that computer starts in Normal mode.
    So realy cant figure why before it only kept starting in Safe mode.
    Not gonna worry about anymore

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    2,903

     

    Well, if it changes any more by itself, you may want to run a few malware scans to make sure you're not infected, and that's not what's causing it...

    Jake
    Last edited by Coolname007; March 17th, 2009 at 11:53 PM.

    The DARK knight. The knight of DARKNESS.
    SHADOW
    killer. The NINJA, master of darkness, stealth and invisibility.
    Jake Johnson

    Having dual-booting problems? Have a read of the following links to help you better accomplish your goal:

    1. PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING WITH A PROBLEM | 2. Steps for Multibooting | 3. Multibooters - Understanding the Multiboot Process

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Edit Cool?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    2,903

     

    Quote Originally Posted by kairozamorro View Post
    Edit Cool?
    Sorry about that...didn't realize I double-posted. Fixed now.

    The DARK knight. The knight of DARKNESS.
    SHADOW
    killer. The NINJA, master of darkness, stealth and invisibility.
    Jake Johnson

    Having dual-booting problems? Have a read of the following links to help you better accomplish your goal:

    1. PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING WITH A PROBLEM | 2. Steps for Multibooting | 3. Multibooters - Understanding the Multiboot Process

Similar Threads

  1. BIOS / BOOT Help!
    By Poyntz in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 4th, 2009, 08:21 AM
  2. How to undo Vista from multiboot
    By htw in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 14th, 2009, 02:33 PM
  3. MBR, BIOS, CD-ROM help...
    By mattr1111 in forum General PC Help Center
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 13th, 2009, 07:13 AM
  4. Vista Not Loading, No BIOS
    By shane in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 11th, 2008, 07:54 PM
  5. Love EasyBCD but need help to undo dual boot
    By FL_Mike in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 8th, 2007, 10:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •