Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Upgrade All or Part Of Multi-Boot - See Any Problems?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

    Question Upgrade All or Part Of Multi-Boot - See Any Problems?

    I'm thinking more of the iReboot/EasyBCD situation really. I'm thinking of upgrading one or both of my XP Pro SP3's to Vista Ultimate (now that I have Technet Plus) and wondered if anyone foresees difficulties ahead with an upgrade vs. a clean install?

    The boot sector is on C: which is XP Pro SP3 #1 which is also where EasyBCD is, I then have D: XP Pro SP3 #2 test OS, then I have M: Vista Ultimate SP1 and N: Windows 7 beta.

    C: and D: are on disk 0, M: and N: are on disk 1.

    I'll probably wait until Vista SP2 final is on the download list.
    Last edited by Ex_Brit; April 13th, 2009 at 03:32 PM.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Yeah wait for SP2 unless you got an SP1 disc. Pre-SP1 upgrades have failed me everytime. Not in the sense that it couldn't be upgraded to Vista, but everytime I've done it I've found corrupted system files, an overall unstable system, and the inability to upgrade to SP1 even after running the preparation tool thats supposed to fix machines that are having problems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    They have Vista Ultimate SP1 available right now and Vista Ultimate SP2 RC which indicates that any time now the RTM will be available. So I'll wait.
    Thanks for the tip.

    I'm wondering if I'll screw up the multi-boot if I update C:. I'll do D: first. I really should hang onto XP on one partition, just for old times sake...LOL.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    I'm not quite ready to let go of XP either. I don't use that much but its nice having an older OS to fall back to when needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    The one on C: was in itself an upgrade, from an OEM XP Home (Gold) to XP Pro SP2 and is so hopelessly cluttered I really should clean it off the computer altogether, but it holds the boot sector for all my OS's unfortunately.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Copy the boot files over to Vistas partition and set that partition as active. Should be fine...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    Hmm, when it gets to doing things like that I usually screw up and end up having to format. I'll wait for Vista SP2 and then start thinking seriously about it.

    Addendum:

    Quote Originally Posted by kairozamorro View Post
    Copy the boot files over to Vistas partition and set that partition as active. Should be fine...
    You mean copy them to (say) M:? If so exactly which files? I've already backed up the EasyBCD files, is that all that's needed, other than installing EasyBCD on a system other than C: XP Pro until I've decided what I"m doing with the XP..
    Last edited by Ex_Brit; April 14th, 2009 at 06:13 AM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    XP boot files (ntdetect.com, ntldr, boot.ini) if you plan on having XP installed again + bootmgr + boot folder.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    Ah, I see, thanks.

    Addendum:

    Tried copying bootmgr and the boot folder...some items therein couldn't copy because they were in use. Tried in safe mode and even in Windows 7.
    Last edited by Ex_Brit; April 14th, 2009 at 10:07 AM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Remove thier system/read attributes or boot form a Vista DVD to do it with xcopy.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    You mean give myself permission? If so, I would have to change ownership. I'm not "up" in these kind of thingts. I don't want to end up with an unbootable system.

    Never used xcopy so not sure about that either.


    Addendum:


    OK, let's try another approach. If I format C: and D: and install a clean copy of .. whatever. Will I be able to retrieve the boot ability for the systems in M: and N: using , say, EasyBCD?

    This might be a good idea anyway as I have so much crapola hanging around on those partitions. Relics of 2003 when I installed the first system on it...and it's all been upgrades ever since.
    Last edited by Ex_Brit; April 14th, 2009 at 05:44 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,411

     

    If you install W7 and/or Vista to a clean HDD, and it's alone (the other HDD disconnected), then you can always add entries to the newly created BCD to boot the old systems on the other HDD when you reconnect it.
    If you Install Vista on the clean HDD with another Vista still connected on the 2nd HDD, the new install should see the old one and add itself to the old Vista's BCD.
    W7 I expected to behave the same way, but when I added it to a new partition on my 2nd HDD, it ignored the fact that Vista was already there with a BCD, and just installed itself independently to its own partition without disturbing the existing dual-boot. It needed to be added to Vista's BCD manually to join the multi-boot.
    Subsequently I replaced that multi-boot with a manual customization of the HnS menu.lst described in another thread.
    Can't remember now whether you're an HnS user Peter ?
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    No I don't use HnS - too complicated for me I'm afraid and after all the posts with problems I steered clear. I hide the systems from XP and its restore destroying ways by hiding them using registry entries in XP.

    I've always installed all my systems when booted into C:, that way I can control what drive letters they all use and it makes it easier because they all see each other right off, until I start hiding them that is.

    My concern is now, if I format C: and install a clean copy, I will no longer have EasyBCD, until I reinstall it of course, but, if the OS sees the other Vista and Win7 then all well and good of course. I guess it's a question of wait and see what happens.

    I'm leaning more to clean installation now because I've realised a great many programmes I have in XP aren't Vista compatible, plus it's a great opportunity to clean out the garbage.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Yeah clean install. You'll thank yourself later...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,911

     

    Thanks guys.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



Similar Threads

  1. Database Problems & Upgrade
    By Computer Guru in forum NeoSmart News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 4th, 2009, 12:25 PM
  2. multi-boot problems - Win7-XP Home-XP Pro
    By donnybb in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 12th, 2009, 02:46 PM
  3. Dualboot Vista/XP on separate drives - Part 2
    By boofus in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 21st, 2008, 01:57 PM
  4. Delete vista installed on primary part c:
    By smbs in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 28th, 2008, 02:24 AM
  5. ebcd + (vista+recovery part) + xp + Fedora linux
    By rasker in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 6th, 2007, 10:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •