Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help Edit Boot WIN7/XP

Default Help Edit Boot WIN7/XP

Here is my setup:
    Was running XP on little 50GB HDD, cloned it to nice big'ol 500GB. Pulled the 50GB and set it aside. Installed the 500GB cloned XP, made sure it worked perfectly and it does. So I then upgraded to WIN7 Home Premium. Got WIN7 up and running just great. At this point my boot loader looked like this:
    Previous Version of Windows
    Windows 7
    Recovery Console (I'll delete this later at some point, but it doesn't bother me one bit for now)

So everything has been going great for a couple days. Of course, now I get greedy and I added back the 50GB XP HDD to the computer (as a slave - master is the 500gb). Installed EasyBCD 1.7.2 (I realize now the beta exists now that I am a newbie member), added an entry for Windows XP, pointed to my 50GB drive letter ( E: ) and rebooted.

All I am getting is the error: "A Disk Read Error Has Occurred... cntrl-alt-delete to reboot"

What do I do? I think I need to point to a more exact point instead of just the drive letter ( E: ). Do I need to use the Boot Editor to edit the path? Is this right? What should I be point to in the drive? What exactly?

Many thanks for the help.... Here is a copy of my BCDEDIT if it helps below:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>bcdedit
    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device partition=C:
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {current}
    resumeobject {fc9435e2-c123-11de-a8a2-a09f45c8592c}
    displayorder {ntldr}
    {current}
    {fc9435e6-c123-11de-a8a2-a09f45c8592c}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 30
    Windows Legacy OS Loader
    ------------------------
    identifier {ntldr}
    device partition=C:
    path \ntldr
    description Previous Version of Windows