Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Unable to boot Ubuntu using EasyBCD with Win 7

  1. #1

    Default Unable to boot Ubuntu using EasyBCD with Win 7

    Am experimenting with different ways of multi-booting my tablet PC. I have three OSs installed (in the following order): Vista, Win 7 RC, Ubuntu 8.04. I had previously set this up with GRUB installed to the MBR and used the menu.lst file to select the OSs.

    Yesterday, when trying to boot into Win7 got an error message of no operating system found! So, last night, restored Win 7 boot from the Win 7 DVD -- which, of course, overwrote the MBR.
    So, I used the SuperGRUB disk to restore GRUB to the MBR and I can boot OK now.

    But, every time I get a Vista or 7 problem, I have to go through this reloading GRUB each time, and I thought I'd try using EasyBCD -- since I'm planning on migrating to Windows 7 nearly full-time.

    So, I installed Beta 2 Build 63 (which I what I had downloaded a while back), went into EasyBCD, and added Ubuntu as a boot selection from the Linux tab.

    But when I choose that, the screen blinks for an instant and returns me to the boot menu.

    So, this morning, I downloaded and installed EasyBCD Beta2 build 65 -- and did the same thing again. Same results.

    So, I used the Ubuntu LiveCD to install GRUB to the Ubuntu partition. And tried again, thinking, that maybe if GRUB is there, the menu option would work.

    I tried two different options -- with and without the GRUB is installed to the MBR box checked -- no success either way.

    I'd like eventually to just use EasyBCD and leave the MBR alone but if I use the Win7 DVD and restore the MBR, without EasyBCD working, I would lose all access to Ubuntu (which I need for the short term), and would only have to go through the restoring GRUB to the MBR stuff again.

    So, I'm puzzled what to do next. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,448

     

    Hi Mark, welcome to NST.
    After Ubuntu 8.04, grub syntax changed and EasyBCD 1.7 didn't support the change.
    Support was included in EasyBCD 2.0, but to be honest, I've never come across the situation where someone used Easy2 with an old release of Ubuntu, and I'm not sure whether Guru included backwards compatibility or not.
    Try using EasyBCD 1.7 to add the Linux entry (don't tick the box, unless Linux is on a different HDD from the BCD. Ticking the box installs Neogrub to bridge between the HDDs (overcoming a grub bug))
    If you need Neogrub, uninstall any previous version first.
    Last edited by Terry60; October 28th, 2009 at 02:15 PM.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  3. #3

     

    Terry:

    Thanks for the rapid response. Have just downloaded EasyBCD 1.7.2.

    As to NeoGRUB, I installed legacy grub from Ubuntu 8.04 disk, so do I need to download and install NeoGRUB as well? OR is that automatically incorporated into EasyBCD?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,448

     

    It's automatically installed if you tick the box, but it can be manually installed /uninstalled from the Neogrub tab in EasyBCD
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  5. #5

     

    Sorry ... didn't work. Same results.

    Here's the contents of the BCD panel:
    There are a total of 3 entries listed in the Vista Bootloader.
    Bootloader Timeout: 30 seconds.
    Default OS:

    Entry #1

    Name: Windows 7 RC Ultimate
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    Windows Directory: \Windows

    Entry #2

    Name: Windows Vista (TM) Business
    BCD ID: {d1893ae3-c3de-11de-84f7-eb7369700847}
    Drive: D:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    Windows Directory: \Windows

    Entry #3

    Name: Hardy Heron 8.04 LTS
    BCD ID: {d1893ae9-c3de-11de-84f7-eb7369700847}
    Drive: D:\
    Bootloader Path: \NST\nst_grub.mbr
    Here's the stanza in the menu.lst file for 8.04:
    title Ubuntu 8.04.3 LTS, kernel 2.6.24-25-generic
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-25-generic root=UUID=ae6180dd-5e7f-4dc1-8f1e-77350e4eb979 ro quiet splash vga=792
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-25-generic
    quiet
    Is the BCD ID the same thing as the UUID? If so, and I manually edit the BCD ID of the Hardy Heron entry to match the UUID in the menu.lst file, should that work?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,448

     

    If I were you, I'd switch back to the latest Beta build, and upgrade 8.04 too, but I have no attachment to Linux (I just use it like a large utility to circumvent Windows security) and can happily reinstall it at will without losing any user data.
    If you are concerned to keep the HH level, you'd better wait around for one of our Linux boys to appear.
    I'm afraid you've run up against the limit of my Linux expertise, and my hunch about old Ubu/new Easy was evidently mistaken.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    No the BCD ID and UUID are two separate things. BCD ID just identifies an entry in Windows BCD. The UUID identifies a paticular disk/partition. Fix that and try this entry with the right UUID:

    title Ubuntu
    find --set-root /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-25-generic
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-25-generic root=UUID=ae6180dd-5e7f-4dc1-8f1e-77350e4eb979 ro quiet splash vga=792
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-25-generic

  8. #8

     

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry60 View Post
    If I were you, I'd switch back to the latest Beta build
    Tried that first and was told to use the 1.7.2 build instead.

    , and upgrade 8.04 ...
    Sorry ... can't do that. Newer versions don't detect the hardware properly, so I'm stuck with 8.04 on this box.

    Addendum:

    Quote Originally Posted by kairozamorro View Post
    No the BCD ID and UUID are two separate things. BCD ID just identifies an entry in Windows BCD. The UUID identifies a paticular disk/partition. Fix that and try this entry with the right UUID:
    OK, will try that.
    Last edited by Mark Phelps; October 29th, 2009 at 01:22 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,353

     

    You don't necessarily have to use UUID mode. It's preferred, but not imperative.

    i.e. this will also work:
    Code:
    title Ubuntu
    find --set-root /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-25-generic
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-25-generic root=/dev/sda4 ro quiet splash vga=792
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-25-generic
    Of course, a4 is specific to this example.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  10. #10

     

    Well, THAT could have gone a lot better!!

    Made the changes indicated -- to the stanza in the menu.lst file. Rebooted.

    Selected that entry from the GRUB menu. Failed on GRUB error 15!

    But, I figured, maybe NeoGRUB would work anyway. Rebooted. Selected Hardy Heron entry from the Windows & boot loader menu. Quick screen flash. Back to the same menu.

    So I thought, OK, this doesn't work either, so I'll boot back into Windows 7, remove the Hardy Heron entry (so I don't forget and accidentally choose it) and post this message.

    Selected Windows 7 -- loading screen comes up -- BSOD! Stop code 7B. Tried again. Same thing.

    Tried again, pressed F8, hoping to see a selection that would allow me to run startup repair. No such option (that I could see). DID boot into SAFE mode, though.

    Booted from Windows 7 DVD. It offered to run repair. I let it start. 15 minutes later, still have sliding cursor but no reboot. Shutdown machine.

    Rebooted. Still get BSOD. OK, didn't expect it to work since I had shutdown the machine.

    Rebooted from ATI Home CD. Restored from backup made this morning. Rebooted. OK now.

    ... so NOW it REALLY gets interesting!!

    Booted into Ubuntu. Modified menu.lst to remove the changes. Saved the file.

    Rebooted. Selected Windows 7 again. BSOD -- again!! Flashed quickly but it had the same stop code as before.

    Did the ATI restore again. Back to working again (or I couldn't be posting this).

    Installed the lastest Beta of EasyBCD 2.0. Used it to remove the Hardy Heron entry (since it doesn't work anyway).

    I think that's it for EasyBCD experimentation for now.

  11. #11

     

    OK ... I'm back!

    My tablet PC crashed over the weekend and was unbootable. Good news is that, due to the tutorials here and EasyBCD, I was able to get it booting again.

    But, had to rewrite the MBR in the process.

    Given the HOURS it took to get the machine working again, I'm now nervous about messing with the MBR to reinstall GRUB to get to my Linux install. So, I booted into an Ubuntu LiveCD, installed GRUB in the Linux partition, rebooted into Seven, added an entry to the boot loader menu for Linux. Rebooted.

    Selected the Linux entry, get "GRUB" briefly on the screen, get message that it's starting up -- quick flash and back to the OS menu.

    As an alternative, I had first tried NeoGRUB, hoping that I could simply substitute my existing menu.lst file for the one that NeoGRUB uses -- but the syntax is evidently very different between the two menu.lst files.

    So, I'm trying to get the simpler version working.

    Anything else I could try?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,353

     

    Did you select GRUB2 or GRUB (Legacy) in the EasyBCD drop-down menu?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  13. #13

     

    Quote Originally Posted by Computer Guru View Post
    Did you select GRUB2 or GRUB (Legacy) in the EasyBCD drop-down menu?
    \

    Since I'm running Hardy (8.04), it uses legacy GRUB, so I selected GRUB (legacy).

    I've actually tried two different approaches:
    1) Using legacy GRUB installed to the Ubuntu partion, adding a Linux entry in EasyBCD (Beta 2 build 76). Just get a brief flash and return to the boot selection menu.
    2) Installing NeoGRUB, adding an entry in EasyBCD using NeoGRUB, modifying the menu.lst file to add two stanzas -- one for Ubuntu, one for ISOLinux. Boots into a text mode screen with GRUB version at the top and GRUB> prompt.

    One option I'm not clear on is the "GRUB is not installed to the MBR" check box. Since GRUB is NOT installed to the MBR, I check this, but when I do, it greys out the entry above that points to the partition on the drive where GRUB is installed. I would think that when you have GRUB installed to the Ubuntu root partition, you WOULD want this box checked and EasyBCD would need to know which partition contains GRUB.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,353

     

    OK, that option is a weird one. We didn't know what to call it so that's the name we gave it, but what it means is "I have a /boot/grub/menu.lst file that came with my default installation, but GRUB itself isn't installed to the MBR or Bootsector so use NeoGrub with the existing configuration file"
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    2,903

     

    The "Grub is not installed..." box installs NeoGrub, and configures the menu.lst to search all partitions for Grub's menu.lst, and uses it to boot. Try checking it, and see if you can boot then.

    The DARK knight. The knight of DARKNESS.
    SHADOW
    killer. The NINJA, master of darkness, stealth and invisibility.
    Jake Johnson

    Having dual-booting problems? Have a read of the following links to help you better accomplish your goal:

    1. PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING WITH A PROBLEM | 2. Steps for Multibooting | 3. Multibooters - Understanding the Multiboot Process

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: October 25th, 2009, 10:38 AM
  2. Unable to get Ubuntu to multiboot.
    By BigJim1 in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 26th, 2009, 11:19 PM
  3. Unable to resolve Vista boot loader issue with EasyBCD
    By mike-kilgore in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 4th, 2009, 01:31 AM
  4. Unable to boot into Ubuntu from Vista Bootloader -- URGENT!
    By sstewart207 in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 11th, 2008, 10:59 PM
  5. Unable to restore MBR using EasyBCD
    By concoran in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 15th, 2008, 10:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •