Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 104

Thread: Using NeoGrub to hide Vista partition from XP

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    Yes I just realised that it's partition 0. So how come I can boot into Vista but if I choose XP it gives me a grub screen?

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    Did you change the letters for them as I indicated in the above post? Does it still give you a GRUB screen even now?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    I don't understand. Letters? Where? Yes I get a grub screen if I opt for the XP entry on the boot menu.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    can you post your menu.lst Here?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    menu.lst ? Explain please. Sorry but the world of Linux is foreign to me.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    It's not linux.

    C:\NST\menu.lst.

    post it in a code box.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    Ah now I get you...! Code box...?

    Code:
    # NeoSmart NeoGrub Bootloader Configuration File
    #
    # This is the NeoGrub menu.lst file, and should be located at C:\menu.lst
    # Please see the EasyBCD Documentation for information on how to create/modify entries
    # http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD
    
    default 0
    timeout 0
    
    title Boot XP - Hide Vista
    hide (hd1,1)			# SET THIS TO THE VISTA DRIVE
    # Optionally repeat the above entry for all the Vista drives
    chainloader (hd0,0)/ntldr	# SET THIS TO THE BOOT PARTITION
    boot
    
    # Optional section
    #  If you include this section, you will see a second bootloader menu!
    title Boot XP - Unhide Vista
    unhide (hd1,1)			# SET THIS TO THE VISTA DRIVE
    # Optionally repeat the above entry for all the Vista drives
    chainloader (hd0,0)/ntldr	# SET THIS TO THE BOOT PARTITION
    boot

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    Sorry, just figured out that the # is what you meant for "code box".

    It should have still booted OK surely, even though I told Grub to hide the wrong partition?

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    Code:
    # NeoSmart NeoGrub Bootloader Configuration File 
    # 
    # This is the NeoGrub menu.lst file, and should be located at C:\menu.lst 
    # Please see the EasyBCD Documentation for information on how to create/modify entries 
    # http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD 
    
    default 0 
    timeout 0 
    
    title Boot XP - Hide Vista 
    hide (hd1,0)            # SET THIS TO THE VISTA DRIVE 
    # Optionally repeat the above entry for all the Vista drives 
    chainloader (hd0,0)/ntldr    # SET THIS TO THE BOOT PARTITION 
    boot 
    
    # Optional section 
    #  If you include this section, you will see a second bootloader menu! 
    title Boot XP - Unhide Vista 
    unhide (hd1,0)            # SET THIS TO THE VISTA DRIVE 
    # Optionally repeat the above entry for all the Vista drives 
    chainloader (hd0,0)/ntldr    # SET THIS TO THE BOOT PARTITION 
    boot
    This should work if NTLDR is on the first drive of the first partition. If it isn't then what drive is it on?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    I had to give myself permission but I changed menu.lst. No change, still a Grub screen if I pick XP. I wouldn't have thought hiding the wrong partition would have caused this.

    I got this until I gave myself permission.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    Yeah that is a Windows Vista error, since to EasyBCD this is the equivalent of a System File, I have EasyBCD coded to tell Windows to treat it and other bootloader files as such.

    Again, is ntldr on the first partition of the first drive?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    Sorry my mind is elsewhere...yes I meant to say that it is on C: drive.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    Reading that code file..."This is the NeoGrub menu.lst file, and should be located at C:\menu.lst"


    It's actually at C:\NST\...

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,359

     

    Yes, that's just a typo. EasyBCD 1.61 uses c:\menu.lst instead.
    What "GRUB" screen do you get?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,943

     

    I was hoping to take a picture of it with my cell but it wouldn't cooperate - it locked up so it really isn't my favourite day today, so here goes in long hand..


    Black Screen

    Grub Version 0.93n (639k lower .. /3512511k upper....
    [minimal BASH-like line editing is supported for the first word, TAB lists possible command completeion. Anywhere else TAB list possible completions of a device/filename]


    or words to that effect.

    Toronto, Canada
    Volunteer Moderator
    Vista Ult SP2, Win 7 Ult SP1, Win 8.1 Pro w/MC, all x64



Similar Threads

  1. How to hide Vista partition while in Win7 and vice versa
    By karen123 in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2009, 06:14 AM
  2. Hide Win7 Partition from XP
    By SnapCount in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 28th, 2009, 09:45 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 14th, 2008, 12:04 PM
  4. Hide Vista from XP - Neogrub hd(0,0)
    By jcuticchia in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 11th, 2008, 10:03 AM
  5. NeoGrub: hide vista from xp?
    By nilbill in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 1st, 2008, 08:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •