Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Adding Grub

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Adding Grub

    I have three OS on my system (Windows 7, Ubuntu 10.4 & Mac OS X retail), I installed Ubuntu 10.4 and Mac on my second hard drive after removing my windows 7 drive first. I can boot to windows 7 automatically and if I want to get to grub to select my Ubuntu or Mac installation, I have to select my second drive at boot up with F12

    I installed easyBCD and tried adding Linux-grub2 to the boot menu but when I reboot and select the Linux entry I only get “grub >”

    Is there a way to fix this besides installing grub to the windows MBR?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,357

     

    Hmm, can you try

    1) Delete the Linux entry in EasyBCD
    2) Replace C:\Program Files\NeoSmart Technologies\EasyBCD\profiles\grldr with the one attached to this post
    3) Add a new GRUB2 entry with EasyBCD and reboot to test?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

     

    Thanks for your reply. No that didn’t work.

    I also tried NeoGrub and added the following script to the menu.lst ( Grub is located in /dev/sdb4), and it didn’t work:

    default 0
    timeout 1
    title Chainload into GRUB v2
    root (hd1,4)
    kernel /boot/grub/core.img

    Grub sees the windows 7 disk but it won’t boot it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

     

    I solved my problem by following the instructions in this link: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...b2/+bug/604743
    Now I can boot up all three OS’s with Grub2 without installing it to windows 7 MBR

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,357

     

    ;Glad it worked for you.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

Similar Threads

  1. Error adding more than one Wim to a USB Stick
    By Nutralis in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 14th, 2010, 08:35 AM
  2. Adding Virtual Disks to the BCD - Already possible through CLI
    By Panarchy in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 13th, 2009, 07:15 AM
  3. Adding XP to a new Vista Laptop - possible?
    By porty in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: October 26th, 2007, 08:29 AM
  4. Adding XP PRO to Vista
    By Gordon in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 14th, 2007, 11:47 PM
  5. GRUB GRUB Hard Disk Error - Ubuntu + Vista
    By Mardoxx in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 19th, 2007, 02:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •