Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No pop-up menu for iReboot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default No pop-up menu for iReboot

    iReboot has been working great for almost a year to dual-boot two Windows 7 instances, then a few weeks ago it stopped working on one of them. I've tried re-installing, but didn't help at all.

    Also found the iReboot Background Service and it was stopped, so I tried starting it and got this message: "The iReboot Background Service service on Local Computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services or programs."

    Basically, when I left-click or right-click the little blue hat (or whatever the icon is), I don't get the pop-up menu anymore. Absolutely nothing happens.

    Only thing I can think that changed was my company rolled out DirectAccess, and I got some updates to Group Policy a few weeks ago on the W7 instance where iReboot is failing. iReboot still works fine on my other OS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,347

     

    Hi dna5122,

    Sorry for the late reply.

    Basically, the reason you're not seeing the iReboot menu is because the iReboot service (required to get around the stupid UAC regulations: Want UAC-Free iReboot? You got it: iReboot 1.1 released! The NeoSmart Files)

    Now why the service is shutting down.. that's a good question.

    If you run bcdedit from an elevated command prompt, what do you get?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

     

    Running bcdedit from an elevated command prompt gives me all the expected entries.

    Is there any logging in the service that I can access (or turn on) to see what's happening?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    Well, you could try re-installing, but it would appear to be the group policy change thats causing this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,347

     

    Download iReboot 1.0 from the sidebar of the iReboot download page. It didn't use a service.

    Caveat emptor: iReboot 1.0 (without the service) does NOT run at startup if you have UAC enabled. Stupid Windows "security" architecture (#fail).
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    I haven't tried it, but to get around this limitation you could try creating a task to start iReboot for you at login as an administrator, right?
    Last edited by JustinW; March 9th, 2011 at 01:34 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,347

     

    I should have thought of that... I used CSword a few times in the past, found it pretty helpful.

    However, I think it might run into the same problem that iReboot did with v 1.0. Namely, no UAC elevation dialog may be presented at startup. If your app requests evelation and it's run at startup, it'll be shot down and denied.

    I had to use a service to make iReboot actually not require UAC in the first place.

    Addendum:

    I see you've modified your reply (I loaded this tab last night and never got around to reply )

    Using the task scheduler would indeed work, but with this service + agent model, limited user accounts (non-admin) may also use iReboot.
    Last edited by Computer Guru; March 9th, 2011 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Posts
    4,367

     

    csword doesn't run elevated in its parent process. Most of its features don't require that you be an admin, but for those that do, it launches another instance of itself elevated. Its worth a try, I don't have the setup to test it right now.

Similar Threads

  1. iReboot Suggestions
    By pj1115 in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 16th, 2010, 04:33 AM
  2. Ireboot/Win 7 RTM x64
    By Ex_Brit in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2009, 06:11 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 5th, 2009, 03:37 AM
  4. iReboot for Mac OS X?
    By vrsix in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 19th, 2008, 02:03 AM
  5. iReboot and XP
    By gigabernie in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 8th, 2008, 02:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •