Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: EasyBCD "Cannot find file specified" from one partion

  1. #1

    Default EasyBCD "Cannot find file specified" from one partion

    Hi all,

    I have a problem similar to that in many existing threads but cannot find a solution or explanation to my specific problem. It's a bit of a long story but i will be as brief as possible...

    I installed Win7 on 2 primary partitions on one physical drive. Windows Bootloader kicked in after the second install as expected. I then installed Easy BCD on partition 1, the first OS installed, and made some changes such as default OS and OS Names ("Default OS" and "Test OS"), all was good.

    I then realised that when my laptop is docked via a USB docking station to my secondary monitor and other devices i could not access the boot menu as my second monitor does not output until windows drivers are loaded, my secondary monitor comes on at the windows login screen. So to save undocking each time i want to switch OS's i also installed EasyBCD on partition 2, the second OS installed, and when i want to use this OS i changed the default OS using EasyBCD on partition 1 then reboot. When i want to change back i used EasyBCD on partition 2 to change the default back again and reboot. EasyBCD on both partitions reported and applied changes to the Windows Bootloader successfully.

    I then installed various drivers and app's and changed various system settings in the OS on partition 1 and instead of doing all this twice created an image of partition 1 using Paragon Backup and Recovery 2011 and then restored that image to partition 2. After cloning partition 1 to partition 2 i did have to use Windows Repair on my Win7 disk to rebuild the bootloader, i'm not sure why, but once this was done the bootloader worked fine again but EasyBCD on partition 1 stopped working reporting "Cannot find file specified" while EasyBCD on partition 2 worked fine.

    In frustration i have also uninstalled EasyBCD from both partitions and reinstalled it on Partition 1 only. I have browsed to Program files/NeoSmart/EasyBCD/profiles/Neosmart.bcd which has enabled EasyBCD, but the summary reports:

    There are a total of 0 entries listed in the bootloader.
    Default: Not set
    Timeout: 0 seconds
    EasyBCD Boot Device: \

    That's where i'm at now. As i say i can choose OS at the Winodws Bootloader, I can use EasyBCD on partition 2 (although i've now uninstalled it) to apply changes to Windows Bootloader but not using EasyBCD on partition 1 which doesn't seem to be linking with the Windows Bootloader at all.

    Sorry for the lengthy post, hope someone can help!

    Thanks in advance.

    Addendum:

    Just to update, after reading another post i have found that by assigning a drive letter to the System Reserved partition EasyBCD on partition 1 now finds the BCD file automatically. If i remove the drive letter the error returns.

    I don't really want this drive to be visible in My Computer and i don't understand why EasyBCD on partition 2 finds the BCD without needing to assign a drive letter to the System Reserved partition, so any help in this regard would be very much appreciated.
    Last edited by s1desh0w; November 22nd, 2011 at 02:58 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,306

     

    post a screenshot of Disk Management from each of the W7s, with all of the partition status flags visible.
    (How to in the sticky if needed)
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  3. #3

     

    I have attached the screenshots...

    As i hope you can see, i have had to specify a drive letter (Z) to the system reserved partition when using C: System, but not when using D: Test OS, which is shown as C: drive when i boot into it.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Terry, I'm not seeing it. Do you have any idea why?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,306

     

    It all looks fine superficially.
    Your assertion that you needed "startup repair" after cloning, leads me to suspect that at some point the BCD was in C, not in the "Sys Res" partition, and that you cloned it to D (which would require repair).
    However EasyBCD should still find the "active" BCD , letter or no letter, unless you are making use of its latest feature, the ability to force it to start using a BCD other than the one on the active partition.
    Can you check whether you do have redundant copies of the \boot folder on each of your systems, and whether you have the auto-load box ticked in EasyBCD tools/options. (you'll need folder options like this to see super-hidden boot files)
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Oh, right. I forgot about that feature!
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  7. #7

     

    Sorry i have not posted sooner, i've been real busy and this problem was put on the back burner!

    I don't believe i am using the "force" option you mention, i've attached a screenshot of the BCD options page (C drive - partition 1). I have only one copy of the boot folder in each Win7 installation.

    Thanks again for your help guys!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    You shouldn't have one copy of the boot folder on each Windows 7 drive - you should only have one copy total.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  9. #9

     

    Right, In each partition i have Windows/Boot containing the following folders:

    DVD, EFI, Fonts, PCAT

    I'm guessing by the contents this is not the folder you meant?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,306

     

    It's not in \Windows\boot, just in \boot and you can't see it (super hidden) except like this
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  11. #11

     

    Hi,

    Sorry again for late reply...

    I have 2 boot folders as you decribe. One in System Reserved partition and one in C:/ system (my default OS drvice).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    You need to select the one in the \boot\ folder.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  13. #13

     

    Thanks, I can't see how to do this in easyBCD. Could you give me instructions please?

    Also do i need to do anything with the copy of /Boot folder in the System Reserved partition?

    Cheers,

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,306

     

    Going back to my post #5
    I've noticed that on my system where I use the "force" feature because my BCD isn't on the active partition, although it works every time the tick is no longer present
    (NOTE TO CG - BUG !!)
    On your post 7, the same symptoms are exhibited. Although the tick is absent, I suspect you are still navigating to the wrong BCD specified in the box.
    Try ticking the box, clearing the field and unticking it.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Terry, I'm not sure I follow?

    Are you saying the box isn't ticked but that the auto-select BCD behavior is still happening?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 30th, 2011, 08:30 PM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: July 19th, 2011, 09:18 PM
  3. Which program creates the "bootmgr" file ?
    By chesem in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 13th, 2011, 05:52 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2009, 10:21 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 27th, 2007, 04:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •