Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cloned Win7 booting but linked to wrong BCD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Cloned Win7 booting but linked to wrong BCD

    Hi

    I have three boot partition which I boot with grub4dos, (hd0,0) which is XP, (hd0,2) which is my old Win7 and I've just restored a True Image Win7 to (hd0,1).

    I can boot the restored Win7 fine with the following grub4dos entry:

    title Win7 (hd0,1)
    hide (hd0,0)
    hide (hd0,2)
    unhide (hd0,1)
    root (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1

    which goes to a Win7 boot screen with only one entry (I've set it to skip that now). As you can see, I've hidden the other two boot partitions.

    So far so good, but when I open EasyBCD it shows the BCD, with five boot entries, from my old Win7 on (hd0,2). I can load and edit the correct BCD for this windows on (hd0,1) but I need to make sure everything is pointing there, for when I move this install to another HDD with only two boot partitions.

    If I go to Control Panel - System - System Properties - Advanced System Settings - Startup and Recovery Settings, it shows the five entries I have in the BCD for my other Win7 installation on HD0,2, so it's not just EasyBCD but I'm hoping someone knows a quick and easy way to fix this without affecting anything else (maybe the Win7 boot repair disc would work, but as it's impossible to hide the other partitions from that, there's always the risk it will mess them up and it overwrites the grub4dos MBR with the Win7 one, which I'd rather avoid).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,456

     

    By default EasyBCD looks for the BCD in the "active" partition of the first HDD in the BIOS boot sequence. You can make it use another BCD with the tools > options menu, or you could use "makeactive" in your menu.lst for the (hd0,1) partition
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

     

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry60 View Post
    By default EasyBCD looks for the BCD in the "active" partition of the first HDD in the BIOS boot sequence. You can make it use another BCD with the tools > options menu, or you could use "makeactive" in your menu.lst for the (hd0,1) partition
    Thanks, using "makeactive" sorted it out both for EasyBCD and the Windows settings, so obviously the latter also looks to the Active partition.
    Last edited by doveman; April 27th, 2012 at 12:40 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

     

    Could you please explain what this means? I can't figure out how to make the relevant partition Active?



    Quote Originally Posted by doveman View Post
    Thanks, using "makeactive" sorted it out both for EasyBCD and the Windows settings, so obviously the latter also looks to the Active partition.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,456

     

    "Makeactive" is a legacy grub command and only of relevance if you're using that boot loader.
    In Windows you can use Disk Manager to set the active flag, but beware of changing it if you're not sure of what you're doing.
    It's the indicator used by the MBR to locate the boot files, and if you move it to somewhere else the system will no longer be bootable.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 6th, 2012, 08:24 AM
  2. booting problem after erased win7 with BCD
    By netzoa in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 12th, 2009, 10:41 AM
  3. Wrong Drive Letter Booting Vista 64
    By max53000 in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 24th, 2009, 07:40 PM
  4. [Fixed] BCD assigns wrong drive letter to Vista
    By jkb242 in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 13th, 2009, 04:18 AM
  5. Cloned drive, now nothing works
    By Fortigurn in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 28th, 2008, 11:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •