EasyBCD keeps telling me it can't detect the letter of the boot device

Discussion in 'EasyBCD Support' started by Nazgulled, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. Nazgulled

    Nazgulled New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    Recently, my laptop just flipped... I don't know what happened but this is all messy. I have Vista installed in the firs partition and XP on the second, Vista installed first, XP after.

    Now, I can boot into Vista and this is my current BCD:
    Code:
    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier              {9dea862c-5cdd-4e70-acc1-f32b344d4795}
    device                  unknown
    description             Windows Boot Manager
    locale                  en-US
    inherit                 {7ea2e1ac-2e61-4728-aaa3-896d9d0a9f0e}
    default                 {27141816-2c88-11dc-aab4-d614cd73d32b}
    displayorder            {27141816-2c88-11dc-aab4-d614cd73d32b}
    toolsdisplayorder       {b2721d73-1db4-4c62-bf78-c548a880142d}
    timeout                 5
    
    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier              {27141816-2c88-11dc-aab4-d614cd73d32b}
    device                  partition=C:
    path                    \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description             Windows Vista Ultimate
    osdevice                partition=C:
    systemroot              \Windows
    resumeobject            {da64ae84-2c8e-11dc-ae20-806e6f6e6963}
    I can boot fine but every time I run EasyBCD I get the following screen:
    [​IMG]

    I don't know what to do to fix this... I already did everything that the above dialog tells me to do but I keep getting that information dialog. This never happened to me. Although everything is working fine, that dialog popping up every time gives me some discomfort that something is wrong and I would really love to fix this issue.

    I already tried to boot into Vista Recovery Environment and at the command prompt I tried:
    Code:
    bootrec /FixMbr
    bootrec /FixBoot
    bootrec /RebuilBcd
    But it didn't work and I always keep getting the above EasyBCD information dialog.

    Another thing I might add, is that my XP drive ( D: )is screwed... I mean, it says it's in RAW format and I'm in the process of trying to recover the important data then format the whole partition and restore XP Image I had done with Acronis True Image. Just so you need to know...

    What's wrong with my system, and how can I fix it?
     
  2. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey Nazgulled, welcome to NeoSmart Technologies.

    You have indeed been struck by the Nazgûl - your MBR is fried!

    Here's what you need to do:
    Dowload the lastest beta of EasyBCD 1.61 (see the stickied thread in this forum), and install & run it.

    EasyBCD | Bootloader Management | Reinstall Vista Bootloader (fixes the MBR)
    EasyBCD | Diagnostics | Reset BCD Data (fixes the BCD)

    After this, you will be back to a singe (working!) entry in your BCD for Windows Vista. Proceed to add Windows XP from the "Add/Remove Entries" page, and all should be well.

    Best of luck!
     
  3. Nazgulled

    Nazgulled New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll do that in a few minutes cause right now I'm recovering the data on my lost partition... Just a question, that 1.61 beta version is the only one with the actions you told me to do right?
     
  4. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    No. EasyBCD 1.6 has those options too, but I made some minor changes in 1.61 BETA that may or may not make a difference in your case.
     
  5. Nazgulled

    Nazgulled New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so much, it worked!

    Nice new icons btw ;)
     
  6. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks.. The old ones were kinda...... old :D

    Anyway, glad to hear it worked. IF you're still having trouble recovering your XP partition, go get yourself a copy of Acronis Disk Director 10, and use the "Partition Recovery" feature.
     
  7. Spades

    Spades New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did fixed it :D

    Thanks
     
  8. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hi Spades....

    Are you Nazgulled from above? If so, congratulations - glad to hear it!

    (If not, welcome to NeoSmart Technologies. Glad we were able to help with whatever problem it was you were facing.)
     
  9. Spades

    Spades New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, I have just registered.

    Remember my PM in insanelymac ? :D
     
  10. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ah, of course. You were referring to that issue then above? Well, glad to hear you got it to work :)
     
  11. bspark

    bspark New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm experiencing the same problem... Cant detect letter of Boot Device

    Hi
    I seem to have the same problem, I tried what you suggested to fix the MBR using Easy BCD, but that then causes VISTA to not start up, and I get the following message..

    \Windows\system32\winload.exe

    Status 0xc000000e

    ..The Selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt.

    I then have to start the Computer using the Toshiba VIsta Recovery Disc, and repair the problem

    Visat then boots up OK, IF I use EasyBCD, and make any changes the problem repeats as mentioned above, and I have to use the CD to fix..

    I am wanting to setup dual boot with XP

    Any ideas?

    Ive tried following your instructions a few times and it always happens

    Thanks in advance
     
  12. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,748
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Sounds to me like your MBR needs a repair.

    EasyBCD | Bootloader Management | Reinstall Vista Bootloader
    EasyBCD | Diagnostics | Reset BCD Data

    Should do the trick :)
     

Share This Page