laptop start automatically as soon as plugged on [Solved}

Discussion in 'General PC Help Center' started by vishalbansal01, May 3, 2011.

  1. vishalbansal01

    vishalbansal01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    laptop start automatically as soon as plugged on
    please help
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2011
  2. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    ..and this is a bug with what Neosmart application? What make and model is the laptop?

    It starts when plugged into what...the power supply or what?

    Also what is the operating system, service pack and are you totally up to date with Windows Updates?
     
  3. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Moved to General Help
     
  4. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    This can happen if the CMOS battery is no longer working. That maybe should be replaced. Does the System Clock stay accurate when the laptop is unplugged for a long period?
     
  5. vishalbansal01

    vishalbansal01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Even system clock is not accurate, and change time automatically, what is the exact problem, and what is the solutaion, plz help

    Addendum:

    its HP dv2000 series laptop,
    it automatically start when plugged on power suppy.
    Operating system is Windows 7 and all the windows update are installed properly.
    Plz help
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  6. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    It looks like your CMOS battery is no good. If you don't know how to replace it I suggest you take the machine to a PC repair shop.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  7. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  8. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    That link isn't clickable Terry
     
  9. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Thanks Peter, don't know what happened there.
     
  10. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    ;-) You're welcome.
     
  11. vishalbansal01

    vishalbansal01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Problem resolved after I replaced CMOS and main battery
     
  12. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Older, But No Wiser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    Glad it's OK now, all the best. ;-)
     

Share This Page