Need Step by Step for Multi boot. Experience computer user.

Is Multi-Boot an easy function to perform?

• Yes, but I am Super Nerd and I can handle it!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BarJabba

Hello folks!!

I am looking at the Dual/Multi Boot files and info you provide. I am ihave a big need to do this. I am a programmer and have been in computing since 1983, really, I am an old hack :brows: that pretty much stayed away from this aspect. I always deferred this operation to underlings. Why? because I didn't want to be the one to get in trouble WHEN things got messed up.:tongueout:

Now, finally, my hand has been forced. :ldown: The first and last time I tried a dual boot was in 2000 when I wanted to put on RedHat(5.1 I think). I went to Fry's electronics and picked up a boxed version, thinking that I would get a extensive manual and a pretty "user stupid" installation program. :nerd: I went through its criptic disk partitioning routine(which was easy enough for no GUI). Then the installation of this Linux Distribution happened. I surely thought I was getting a stable process by buying it. It failed and luckily had my drive imaged on my companies server at the time. I guess I was too ignorant and scrambled up my drive. So, I said "no more of this!"

Now, I really need to multi boot all three OS's. I have XP Home which came loaded with HP/Compaq's mass produced image of thier XP. I need to, by all means necessary, keep this XP Home my main OS. No damage, no disappearing acts, and no reinstalls/repairs.:scared: You see, HP/Compaq does not give an XP Install CD to thier customers to be able to do repairs. They only offer a D: drive with only the ability to completly erase everything and put your HD in the same "Factory" condition when I bought it. I had always did custom builds and bought my own OS's before. I'll never do big OEM thing again!:tongueout:

XP Home C: Drive|Maxtor 141 GB internal|PRESARIO|Primary