Uncrackable Passwords

Discussion in 'NeoSmart News' started by mqudsi, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Until the new site script is completed, releases are being posted here in the forums.

    We are proud to announce the release of Uncrackable Passwords in its 3rd revision! Much expanded, with clearer mathematics, and easier to understand, this release is guaranteed to make your PC more secure.

    Document Abstract:
    Download link:
    Uncrackable Passwords (PDF - 442 KB)

    (digg story)

    *Uncrackable is taken in this context to mean uncrackable for all practical intents and purposes. No password is 100% uncrackable, given enough time and money all can be cracked.
     
  2. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Please Note:
    Not all applications support Unicode characters. Please don't try this on ancient programs or on (very) old versions of Microsoft Windows.
    These "non-unicode" programs are hard to pin at times, but an example is Microsoft Outlook Express, and Firefox 2.0 has a (ridiculously) hard time entering such characters, although it is a unicode application. Best course of action to take in Firefox is to cut and paste the characters you want from elsewhere until the developers get that fixed.

    µ
     
  3. Jane

    Jane Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    is there a list of programs that work with this?
     
  4. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well,
    • All Adobe apps (newest versions)
    • Windows Vista, XP, 2k3, and 2k
    • Linux (all recent distros)
    • Microsoft Office
    • Internet Explorer 6 & 7
    • Opera (8 & 9)
    • Notepad
    • Wordpad
    • PGP Desktop 9
    • and many more.....
    I'm just listing the ones that people would most likely try to use this password model on...
     
  5. hag789

    hag789 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    disabled
    Location:
    Indianapolis In
    Where can I find a list of these characters to use?
     
  6. {Ron!n}

    {Ron!n} New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Unemployed
    Location:
    Jeddah
    too bad this wont work with laptops. Or would you have to turn num lock on or what?
     
  7. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    I don't there really is one.. just use any random 3-character keypress and you should be fine..... assuming you want to use this for security purposes, that is.

    Yes, you'll need to enable numlock first.
     
  8. Kahai

    Kahai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    student, and UPS auditor
    Location:
    Minnesota
    another way to make powerful passwords is with an encryption of some kind.

    I use Leet Key for FF, Sir Guru do you know of any GPL software out ther for it?

    some passwords i use commonly, (i do not use the Key i use for "my" passwords on these example)

    AES:
    HV9TEhkBITAhITAhLY/CPh6IXPpz (where there is a symbol i just use 1 or something. )

    DES:
    7qyAmOMQxPM=

    Those are the same same passwords before encryption. with the same key being used.

    someone kool ones:
    YnVsbHNoaXQ= (base64)
    ohyyfuvg (ROT13)
    62 75 6c 6c 73 68 69 74 (Hex code)
    xgnnodcy (Dvorak keyboard)

    im still in the process to converting all my passwords over to encryptions ^_^
     
  9. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Kahai, while these passwords are hard to crack by guessing, they're just as susceptible to brute-forcing as normal dictionary-based words.

    The purpose of the article is to explain how certain characters when used in a password make it impossible to figure out.
     
  10. Kahai

    Kahai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    student, and UPS auditor
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes i understood that

    i know unicode is very powerful lol

    and its not impossible, you yourself said they are crackable, if the cracker knows they are using unicode, im sure they could get in then

    i have never suffered any form of attack on any computer i have owned, in my 8 years worth of computer useage. i have been using Nvidia firewall and defender(windows) since i got my own machine and i dont really even store very much "important" information.
     
  11. Coolname007

    Coolname007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Num Lk was enabled when i tried the following in bold letters, but it didn't work. :(

    I tried it in Microsoft Word. Is it supposed to work in Word? And if so, then why didn't it work? :wtf:

    Looking forward to your reply...;)

    -Coolname007
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  12. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just tried it again, and it works fine all these years later :)
     
  13. Coolname007

    Coolname007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Do you mean in Word? :wtf: Strange then that it doesn't work for me...:scared:

    -Coolname007

    EDIT: but of course, then again, i'm using a laptop...although i did make sure to turn num lock on first, after reading the comment from you to the other user in this same thread...;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  14. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
    That's when those little usb numpads you can find at tech stores come in handy, but who wants to carry that around with them not to mention the inconvience of having to plug it in if you use special characters with the password to login to your computer.

    Out of curiosity, I was thinking on this matter today and wondered if vB supports it for passwords? If so that would be excellent but I don't want to try it on my account without knowing for sure of course.
     
  15. Coolname007

    Coolname007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    I think this article answers that question: Classic VB - Does Visual Basic 6 support Unicode? [Archive] - VBForums

    Cheers! :)

    -Coolname007
     
  16. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Last time I checked you didn't need an account to use Visual Basic, so no not Visual Basic... vBulletin... guess I should have typed it out there. That's the problem with technology. The same accronym can have multiple meanings.
     
  17. Coolname007

    Coolname007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Ahh..ok! :) I wasn't sure what you meant by "vB"...so i searched for that exact thing on Google, and only came up with Visual Basic! :p

    Cheers! :lol:

    -Coolname007

    EDIT: Try this one instead: Quite disappointed about Unicode support. [Archive] - vBulletin Community Forum
    EDIT #2: Or this thread: unicode UTF-8 , import , templates , VB3 - vBulletin Community Forum
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  18. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Yeah... vB = vBulletin, VB = Visual Basic....
     
  19. Coolname007

    Coolname007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Alright...i understand it now! :p Did you read the two links to vBulletin threads on this question, in my above post? ^_^ I think it may answer your question...;) Sorry, but i could not come up with anything else.

    Cheers! :)

    -Coolname007
     
  20. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
    Okay, so MySQL fs things up for vB... good thing I didn't try it then :)
    But than again, this was back in 2000... maybe things have changed since than?
     

Share This Page