Dualbooting working, but system feels unstable

GDH

Distinguished Member
Hi,

I'm fairly new to this dualbooting, although I have been contemplating doing it for years. I have upgraded a year ago from an aging Pentium III to a brand new laptop with a subrosa dual core chip, sata 250 gb hd, dedicated graphics card, 2gb ram and Vista Ultimate.

I have had a couple of goes at setting up the dual booting. First attempt was to install Ubuntu - Gutsy Gibbon. Made a mistake and ended up putting on active partition and not on free space. so re-installed Vista and wiped Ubuntu.

Then my only compatible printer with Vista broke, so decided would install Windows XP Home as 2nd dual boot. Made the mistake of not making the second parttion a primary one. So wiped XP off and made the 2nd partition primary. Before installing XP again, thought I would install a clean version of Vista again. But whenever I tried, it kept refusing to extraxct the files - so i left well alone.

Installed XP to 2nd partition, which was now primary but not active, which was succesful. Easybcd found the loader files, which are actually sitting on the Vista partition and now have adual boot system. XP Home SR1 was installed, followed by beta SP3 to try and avoid the endless downloads to get XP u to date.

But it does not feel very stable. Previously had installed Nero when I had XP on a logical partition, can get it to install but it won't install the major update now. Also trying to install Office 2000. This installs, but can't get the updates to apply. I have office 2007 on the Vista partition. Also, use Virgin/Blueyonder PCguard, which I can install on multiple pc's as I have a high level of subscription, but whenever, I boot from 1 os to another, it needs to resubscibe, which is a pain.

Any answers to the Vista reinstall issue and the ones above gratefully received.