How to make dualboot Vista-XP in different HDDs

Blisset

Hi, I have a HDD (EIDE Primary Master) with XP installed and I added another HDD on EIDE Primary Slave with Vista installed.
My motherboard BIOS is set to boot from Vista drive (Primary Slave) and it starts fine.
In Vista I changed the partition letter (in which XP is in) to B: and now I see XP partition have B: letter.
I copied ntldr, boot.ini, netdetect.com files from XP partition to Vista partition in root folder.

After this, I installed EasyBCD 1.6 in Vista, add an entry for XP but when I select XP from Vista bootmenu it can't start (black screen with no error). The only way I have to boot XP is modify BIOS motherboard boot settings to start from XP HDD !

When I configure EasyBCD for XP entry I set C: partition (where I have Vista, BOOT folder and ntldr, boot.ini copied) and EasyBCD automatically changes letter to B:.

The boot.ini (both in C: and in B: ) line is:
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="XP Pro" /fastdetect

It should point to first partition of EIDE Primary Master HDD, correct ?
Have I to edit ARC path in boot.ini file?
Thank you very much

Last edited:
First, delete that entry, download the latest EasyBCD beta and create once more.

If it boots when you change the default boot device, that means that you have the wrong ARC path for when you're using the Vista bootloader.

Follow the instructions on identifying the correct ARC path in our documentation here: http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Windows+XP

First, delete that entry, download the latest EasyBCD beta and create once more.

If it boots when you change the default boot device, that means that you have the wrong ARC path for when you're using the Vista bootloader.

Follow the instructions on identifying the correct ARC path in our documentation here: http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Windows+XP

I red and followed your instructions but XP can't boot.
From Vista, the XP HDD is disk #0, same as from XP.