I want to make a Vista Boot disk

flysalot

Hi there - complete novice here but I've registered with this forum because you seem to treat beginners with respect and are always helpful to each other.

I have a new laptop which came with Vista Home Premium. I want to load XP on it and I have ordered an upgrade copy of XP Pro. I already own Windows 2000 so the plan is to load 2000 and then upgrade to XP. Now in order to do this I thought I would have to completely wipe away Vista but I think now, after reading here, that I should be able to use your Easy BCD and get both working. I'll get back to that point later.

First I would like to make a complete back up DVD which I could restore from if everything goes completely wrong. Again, I read on some other MS sites that the complete backup process provided in Vista does NOT give me a 'bootable' disk. However, I have used The Acer eRecovery process to make a Full Back Up which they referred to as a 'Factory Default' disk. One person on the Acer helpline thought this would be a bootable disk and another thought it would not!

Finally, I'm getting to the question here :smile:. Can anyone tell me how to tell from the contents of the disk whether it is bootable or not? e.g. one of the files is called STCDBOOT and it's described as an ISO file. Would that do it? (Ask if you need any more details?) The whole thing fills 2 DVDs. And I forgot to mention - I have Kubuntu installed on a seperate partition from Vista so if this disk is a complete image of the whole computer, I guess the Linux stuff will be in there somewhere.

Last edited:
Hello and welcome to NeoSmart Technologies, flysalot.

There is something called an "El Torito Boot Sector" that is the equivalent of the MBR for a CD/DVD.

This nifty program (free, of course) can check if your CD has an El Torito boot sector and if it is or isn't bootable.

Let us know how it goes :smile:

Ok here come the dumb questions!
How do I use this program?