iReboot won't start on boot Windows 10

Discussion in 'BugCentral' started by Dick Hampikian, Nov 13, 2017.

  1. Dick Hampikian

    Dick Hampikian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    iReboot won't start in Windows 10 Creator version. It must start in emulation mode Windows 8.
     
  2. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. Mausebaer

    Mausebaer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    Have issue with iReboot (Win10 prof 32):
    Works finne with Win10, but It happens often that the iRboot icon doesn't react anymore (no selection menu shown).
    Need to restart system to get iReboot work again...
     
  4. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    Try reinstalling.
     
  5. Mausebaer

    Mausebaer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    Have already tryed without success (version 2.0.1.42). Issue not reproducible, happens sporadically...
    What could I do when it happens again?
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  6. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    Let's hope someone else spots this and offers advice.
     
  7. Mausebaer

    Mausebaer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    Is somebody of neosmart reading here?
     
  8. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'll page someone.
    Have you tried reinstalling it? I also assume that you have EasyBCD installed on one of your partitions?
     
  9. Mausebaer

    Mausebaer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    ... see above...:
    Have already tryed without success (version 2.0.1.42).
    Yes, I have EasyBCD installed on one partition, controling 9 other partitions...
     
  10. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
  11. Terry60

    Terry60 Knows where his towel is. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Sorry, haven't used iReboot for years (because I never use(d) W10 or W8 except to apply monthly patches, there's no need for me to switch boots any more)
     
  12. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,360
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicago
    iReboot runs in one of two different modes, depending on whether UAC is enabled or not. If UAC is enabled, the iReboot background service must be running for the menu to show up. Can you check the status of the service?
     
  13. Mausebaer

    Mausebaer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    I suppose this regards my post...
    Yes, UAC is active and ireboot service is running (at the moment).

    But thanks for the hint. As mentioned above
    Next time the issue occurs I will be testing if the service ist running. Maybe it's killed for some reason...
    B.t.w., when it happens, the task tray icon doesn't react anymore (shows no menue at right click)
     

Share This Page