Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: List of ideas for EasyBCD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default List of ideas for EasyBCD

    I greet youfromLima- Peru, the first thingisto congratulate you forthis greatprogram is of greathelp to manyof us.
    Here ismyshort list:
    1. EasyBCD version of multiplatform (Windows, Mac, Linux)
    2. Integration of iReboot in EasyBCD
    3. After installation, EasyBCD analyzes the system hard drivesbased on the information contained in the partition tables andcollects information on each operating system installed. It thenautomatically runs the program EasyBCD configuration, including operating systems detected in the EasyBCD menu.
    4. You can also add or remove other names of operating systems, modify existing names and icons for easier identification, add passwords, hide partitions, specify a newstartup delay or select a different default operating system.
    5. I think some will have used BootMagic see (multiple bootsoftware), I think you could add some options EasyBCDsoftware. Link BootMagic manual in Spanish
    (http://es.scribd.com/api_11797_Libro...s-de-BootMagic - http://www.ecured.cu/index.php/BootMagic)

    That's all, thanks for taking the time to read my suggestions.

    Translated with Google Translate

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,322

     

    BootMagic is a 3rd party boot manager.
    EasyBCD is not a boot manager.
    EasyBCD is an app to help you organize the Microsoft BCD
    Microsoft bootmgr boots your system, not EasyBCD
    EasyBCD is not active while your system is booting.
    It is not active after your system boots either.
    It only becomes active when the system is running if you start it.
    Even then, it doesn't do anything unless you tell it to.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    As Terry says, these features are mainly out of the current scope of EasyBCD. That's not, of course, to say that they can't/won't happen, just that they'd take much more time and would happen sometime down the road as a natural of evolution of EasyBCD rather than anything else.

    In particular:

    1) Not going to happen unless EasyBCD switches to GRUB-based instead of BCD-based
    2) Why? EasyBCD is intended for "one time configuration use" while iReboot is on a more consistent, every-day basis. It would help if you could provide a good reason.
    3) Very nice idea. EasyBCD currently does that for Windows XP, I could definitely see it expanding to cover all OSes.
    4) All that can currently be done manually via EasyBCD and the NeoGrub module.
    5) No idea what boot magic is or does, would need to research that before I say anything.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  4. #4

    Default Volume chooser

    Hi,

    I've got 2 volumes: 2xHDDs in RAID-0 and SSD. All bootable. Win7 installed on both volumes, with multiboot (WinXP, Win 8 Developer Preview, 5 linuxes). As you might presume, big mess with MBR, EBR... Grub and bootmgr all together My system starts that way: GRUB2 menu and then direct MemTest/Linux boots, or Windows menu (EBR) that includes all Windows systems from 2 volumes.

    My suggestion is that EasyBCD would give an user a choice which drive is to be ammended. For example, now I've got such stupid situation - no matter which volume I boot from (RAID or SSD) and boot Win7 and launch EasyBCD, I always get one THE SAME boot menu to edit (from SSD).

    So please - one option would be nice: which volume (not drive, because of RAID volumes) is to be edited.

    Thank you

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,322

     

    EasyBCD > File > Select BCD Store ??
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  6. #6

     

    LOL, sorry then and thanks for reply
    But what "File" has to do with "Drive" or "Volume" ? IMO such volume switcher should have been exposed a bit better, like independent button in main window.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    OK. .
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  8. #8

     

    OK, I took a look at that option and I think it doesn't solve my problem, or I can't do that.

    File/Select BCD Store can only pick a file which *do* exists, whether my RAID-0 HDD volume doesn't contain any Boot directory to get any BCD file from.
    Boot directory on my SSD has HS attributes which can't be modified during system is booted from SSD. I can copy BCD file to another location and pick it then, but obviously it contains not that entries I'm looking for.
    Now, I can't understand at all a way, how was I able to change BCD menu entries which I cannot find now ? I mean I had to physically disable one volume to boot from the other and then I could change BCD entries.

    Let me explain, how I can see solving this issue, as it's complicated.
    It shlould have been an independent button on left-hand side named "change volume", "device switcher" or something similar. It cannot be just Menu/File option, as EBR has nothing to do with files, and EBR is to be modified as far as I know as not only files in /Boot are ammended. Clicking it should give an user a window with bootable volumes to choose and after picking a choice, appropriate menu entries should appear in ViewSettings, EditBootMenu etc. It might be an indicator like asterisk (*) telling the user which volume contains /Boot directory. Problem is - as far I've noticed behaviours in Windows 7 - the /Boot directory can be located on NOT THE SAME volume that contains EBR booting code. In simply words: having HDD & SSD you might have /Boot directory on HDD and boot system from SSD. Complicated.

    If I had a time, I would make myself to learn some code, find out specs and write some multi-platform tool to unify that mess, something like unified boot manager that includes all booting issues and replaces all of them.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,322

     

    Remember EasyBCD is an app for managing the contents of the Microsoft Vista/7/8 boot manager's BCD store.
    It is not a boot manager in its own right.
    You are not even using that as your boot manager/loader. You are using grub2.
    Grub2 is in control, and nothing it does can be influenced by EasyBCD.
    Microsoft boot managers from DOS through to W8, all boot via the MBR. You cannot boot any Windows system from the EBR. Windows boot files must be in a primary partition.
    The Microsoft boot architecture is to put all boot files from multiple systems into the same partition, the "active" "system" partition in MS-speak (the "boot" partition to Linux).
    This means that normally, there is only one BCD, no matter how many Windows OSs you are booting through it.
    It is possible (by manipulation of the "active" flag during installation, or by using multiple independent HDDs) to install multiple Windows with multiple BCDs, and EasyBCD contains the ability to switch from the "active" (controlling) BCD to examine or edit the contents of the others. It is not a mainstream option because it is not normal for more than one BCD to exist.
    What you are looking for is a redesign of grub2 - not something we have any hand in, or a third-party boot manager.
    As I said previously EasyBCD is not a boot manager.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  10. #10

     

    Thank you for reply,

    I presume this info is for all the people as personally I'm on the other level as many years ago I wrote boot-virus for C-128D in asm. Since then I was not interesting bootstraps, but it seems it's high time due to all that mess.

    Anyway, could you tell me please, how to read the other BCD store - which I presume - would contain my other Windows 7 bootmenu ? You know I've got 2x Windows 7 - one on SSD, one on HDD. Now, when I boot SSD I've got 3 positions in Windows7 bootmenu and the same is when I edit bootmenu with EasyBCD. When I boot HDD I've got 4 positions in Windows7 bootmenu and the same is when I edit bootmenu with EasyBCD. But.. BUT... problem is because I decided to boot from HDD, so HOW TO GET the bootmenu which is seen during booting from SSD ?

    Normally - you would answer: search /Boot directory on your SSD, wouldn't you ? The problem is I can find /Boot directory on my HDD, but it's NOT PRESENT on my SSD. Is that OK ? Probably you would say the HDD BCD store contains data from my SSD, which might be true as my last Win7 installation has been done with HDD being turned on, which probably had 1st active partition with existent Win7_for_HDD. So - can you answer, how to pick up the correct store in my case, please ? It's why I proposed independent button "volume chooser" which might include File/SelectBCDStore for two BCD locations, and just volume chooser functionalities - both under one GUI (I mean picking correct volume).
    Last edited by biuro74; March 28th, 2012 at 06:54 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    Perhaps you have another hidden partition on the SSD that has the BCD? You should post a screenshot of Disk Management.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,322

     

    You probably haven't got a second BCD (see previous reply). Unless you installed W7 to the SSD with the previous install invisible, the second install will not have created any boot files, it will just have added a second entry into the existing BCD on the HDD. That's how the standard MS install works.
    If so, when you boot the SSD, you'll see in Disk Management SSD = "boot", and HDD = "system"

    Disk Management flags have the following meanings


    "boot" = "this is the system you're running"
    "system" = "this is where I found the boot files for the currently running system"
    "active" (on the first HDD in the BIOS boot sequence) = "this is where I started the search for the boot files"
    "active" (on subsequent HDDs in the BIOS boot sequence) ="this is where I will look if I don't find something in the MBR on the first HDD"

    If you want to have the boot files on the SSD too in order to speed up the boot process, you can use "Change Boot Drive"

    (Don't mean to be patronizing with the info provided but yes
    a) these threads do serve as a reference source for any future visitors, and
    b) we have no idea with a new poster what their level of expertise is, so try to cover all bases )
    Last edited by Terry60; March 28th, 2012 at 09:50 AM.
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

  13. #13

     

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry60 View Post
    the second install will not have created any boot files, it will just have added a second entry into the existing BCD on the HDD.
    Thanks again for reply and patience.
    I had more time to look at this issue beyond my irritation, so it's what I've got. It's exactly what I want: to change that second entry (I hope you mean "entry" = additional BCD store, or bootmenu positions; and NOT "entry" = just position in bootmenu regarding to appropriate system to boot) in the existing BCD. So as far as I can see it can be done in such way:
    * boot SSD
    * copy a BCD file from /Boot (discovered that /Boot directory is being made automatically, just-in-time by OS, so it's why I could find it on HDD having booted from HDD, and couldn't find after booting from SSD) anywhere with no "hidden" parent's dir attribute
    * Menu-File-ChangeBCDStore-pick that copied file (or LoadSystemBCD in case of swap to previous, system bootmenu) - AND WHAT ABOUT THIRD BOOTING VOLUME, IF ANY ?

    Don't you think it's a bit NOT-AUTOMATIC process, which could have been built-into EasyBCD ? Easy means easy So it would be really nice&easy to find the "volume switcher" button which would do everything listed above IN ONE STEP, with no further user action like copying files, knowledge about attributes, and presuming that bootmenu depends on "ChangeBCDStore" option ? I was Amiga fan with great intuition.library and GUI, so in my opinion that button would be more intuitive, or "easy" as EasyBCD name could suggest, wouldn't it ? There's no point in confirmation that MS does/names everything properly, because obviously it doesn't

    Thanks again,
    Martin

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    Honestly, you can't use EasyBCD, regardless of how the UI is laid out, without at least a rudimentary understanding for the underlying architecture and design that MS employs in its bootloader. We try to make it simple in our documentation, but you'll have to read up some on what MS is doing out of the box.

    That said - You're not supposed to ever manually copy the BCD file - and the BOOT directory is only created once and never touched thereafter. (and by once, I mean one BOOT directory on one drive, regardless of how many different installations you have). I recommend reviewing the multibooters.co.uk website for an overview of how the BCD works (I need to work up something similar for our own wiki!).
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire, England
    Posts
    9,322

     

    No, I mean the exact opposite.
    It will have added a single extra W7 loader entry (Windows\system32\winload.exe) into the BCD on your HDD.
    It will not have created another BCD.
    Multibooters, Vista Dual and Multibooting - A Guide to the Multiboot Process
    Terry

    Baker of fine scones.



    Please keep requests for help in the forums where everyone can see them, not in Private Messages.
    Posting a plea for help or information in the forum, will be seen more quickly by a widely experienced audience.
    A solution in the forum could also be useful to other future visitors, so PLEASE, no private requests. (they won't be answered !)

Similar Threads

  1. can't get programme to run - any ideas ?
    By clanpitt in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 27th, 2011, 02:34 AM
  2. Removing EasyBCD menu list
    By hugo in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2011, 08:40 AM
  3. I'm running out of ideas, please help
    By Hallinan in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 15th, 2010, 06:04 AM
  4. EasyBCD - Wish List
    By kalasha in forum Ideas and Wishlists
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 15th, 2007, 09:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •