Removing XP from dual boot Vista

bobggg

I read the March 7 post and it is not quite my situation plus I did not understand the solution.

My situation is that I have been using dual boot for about 6 months and now plan to comit fully to Vista SP1. Both systems are on the same drive, with XP being the first partition and Vista the second. I would like to remove XP to have a simple disk.

I have True Image and have tried the following on a cloned disk, none of which worked.

1. Deleted XP partition, used Vista CD and then bootrec.exe/fixmbr then bootrec.exe/fixboot.
2. Restored Vista part on formated disk, restored MBR, then above bootrec things.

I know I can just shorten the boot selection time and live with XP on the drive, but it would be nice to get rid of XP. :smile:

All help is appreciated.

XP is easy to remove. Using a free Linux drive tool known as GParted live for cd you delete the XP primary and grow the Vista primary afterwards. When rebooting you pause long enough to swapout disks or you if have two optical drives installed with the Vista disk in a dvd drive you then boot from that to use the automatic startup repair tool. Vista will then become the sole OS having repaired the boot record.

The failure to results when cloning is quite simple. Vista is not like XP where that can be cloned and actually work. Vista generally depends on the original configuration in order for the automatic startup repair tool to work. In order to see Vista run on any drive you have to perform a clean install there.

I must have done something wrong. I downloaded gparted-livecd0.3.411 iso and burned to cd. When I rebooted I got lots of text, but no graphical interface. Please send a link that gives the correct file.

You will likely want one ot the platform independent releases like the 0.3.3.0 found on the live cd/usb download page seen at http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=173828