Dual Boot XP MCE/Server 2003.

idontknow

Hi,

I'm completely new to this dual boot thing and I'm wondering if I can dual boot XP Media Centre Edition with Server 2003 R2 EE. If so, could someone give me step-by-step instructions on how to do this?

Edit: I also only have one hard drive, C, and one restore drive, D.

Regards,
idontknow

P.S. Is it also possible to have both XP AND Microsoft's server loaded at the same time? I'm going to be using XP with Visual Studio 9.0 to build applications to use on the server. It would greatly save me time.

You'll need to reduce the C: drive and make it two seperate partitions for each OS. This can be done by deleting the C: partition and creating two seperate partitions during the setup proccess. I would install XP and then Server 2003, which should automatically create the dual-boot for you. Backup any data you want to keep before you begin though, as deleting the partitions well cause loss of any data on them.

As for running them both at the same time, this is not possible unless you run one of them as a virtural machine from within a host OS. This virtural machine is often simply a huge file stored on the partition of the host OS that the virtural machine manager application then uses to boot the virtural machine and can only be used when you boot the computer using the host OS.

Last edited:
You'll need to reduce the C: drive and make it two seperate partitions for each OS. This can be done by deleting the C: partition and creating two seperate partitions during the setup proccess. I would install XP and then Server 2003, which should automatically create the dual-boot for you. Backup any data you want to keep before you begin though, as deleting the partitions well cause loss of any data on them.