Boot Manager Missing

ccpsc

Hi newbie here. I installed vista on a HD then partitioned it and installed win7 rc version to test ot out. I just brought a full version of win7 and did a clean install in the vista partition. I used the format in the install process to format the partition during the install.

It would not boot so I put the disc in and it found a problem and fixed it but it would only boot with the install disc in.

I found easybcd installe the beta 2 version and first tried the Manage Loader section it didn't work. Then Diagnostics Center and selected Reset BCD configuration it didn't work. Then Diagnostics Center and selected Re-create boot files that worked.

It will now boot into the first partition but at start up I don't get the oppotunity to choose which one to boot into. When it opens I cannot see the RC version. In my Computer it is not listed. In Computer Management it shows the partition but no details.

I can use the install disc to choose which opperating system to boot into but the RC version won't boot up now. I tried using the install disc to repair the RC version but it says it can't fix it. Can anything be done to repair this?

ccpsc;45621 I can use the install disc to choose which opperating system to boot into but the RC version won't boot up now. I tried using the install disc to repair the RC version but it says it can't fix it. [B said:
Can anything be done to repair this?[/B]
Hello ccpsc, welcome to NST.
Yeah, all you got to do is boot the W7 that works, run EasyBCD, go to Add/Remove Entries, pick the Windows tab, select "Windows Longhorn" in the Type drop-down menu, give the entry a name, point it at the drive letter of the partition the RC version is installed to, and click Add Entry.

Now you'll have a dual boot. :smile:

Cheers.

Thanks CoolName.

It doesn't have a drive letter. When I go to Administrative tools/Computer Management/Storage/Disc Storage it lists;

Disc 0 (D:smile: 149.04 GB