Cannot coordinate windows 8 and windows 7 (not a tech person)

jhmac77

I TRIED to open window 8 with the win 7 menu but win 8 black white opened with an error msg. Only way I can get win 8(newest development release) is to use the win 8 install disk and go to repair. I am a newbie and don't understand tech language. Please help!:huh:

It didn't work like I expected. It did not change the b/w menu of windows 7 but did add an extra b/w windows 8 menu making win 8 default.

So now I have two black/white(non-graphic) menus. Before I had one b/w menu(win 7) and a graphics win 8 menu.

I did not mention, that both of these partitions came from the same large hard drive.

I need to end up with one menu that makes both win 8 and 7 accessible.

Did you add a W7 BCD entry to W8's BCD ?

How do you do that? I have already created a win 7(default) win 8 menu, both active. But I still have a problem. I still need to put in a repair disk and allow it to go to the end for a few seconds without pushing enter. Without the repair disk, I get an error message.

Addendum

This is what is showing in the perspective windows 7 and 8: (I don't understand what the "Boot Drives are because those drives are not bootable.) Using Easy BCD 2.2 and showing this in windows 7;
There are a total of 2 entries listed in the bootloader.

Default: Windows 7
Timeout: 0 seconds
Boot Drive: D:\

Entry #1
Name: Windows 7
BCD ID: {current}
Drive: C:\
Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe

Entry #2
Name: Windows 8
BCD ID: {000535cf-1633-11e2-9727-fd3a1f75646a}
Drive: H:\

Using Easy BCD2.2 and showing this in windows 8:

There are a total of 2 entries listed in the bootloader.

Default: Windows 7
Boot Drive: F:\

Entry #1
BCD ID: {default}
Drive: D:\

Entry #2
Name: Windows 8
Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe Now what do I do? as far as the BCD's are concerned?

You probably don't have the BIOS boot sequence set correctly.