Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: iReboot on Vista Startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default iReboot on Vista Startup

    I installed iReboot and it is a great little tool. But when I start Vista, I get the message that an autostart program was blocked. I can start IReboot manually, but I wonder what the reason might be. There is a manifest file in the iReboot directory so the permissions should be ok. But what else might be the reason for the error message?

    Best regards,
    Bernd

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Hi Bernd, welcome to NeoSmart Technologies.

    Windows Vista's "advanced" security doesn't let you run any program that requires admin permissions at startup. Because iReboot requires that you OK the elevation request for UAC-enabled machines, Vista will block it. No way around that, unfortunately.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Source
    Posts
    4,267

     

    This is because of the UAC. If you right click on the executable then choose properties, under the the Compatability tab. In there they have a option to Run as Administrator. Check that box and click ok. That should give it the elevated permissions to run at startup. That might the work around you are looking for.
    ~Alex~ .:Forum Moderator:..:Guinea Pig for Testing:.
    I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my Spaces page! .
    This is what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.




    All your posts are belong to NeoSmart!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Mak, does that work for everyone with or without UAC enabled?
    If so, I think I can hack the installer to set that option by default!
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Source
    Posts
    4,267

     

    Without UAC enabled it shouldnt be a problem. I have 2 accounts now on my Vista install. The default account with UAC on and the Admin with it off. So i will test it out real quick and post back with results.

    Addendum:

    Alright after further testing this on my 2 accounts i can up with this.

    The Admin account which has UAC disabled. No problems. The REgular account with UAC on i get the error. Even if i try to give it admin privileges. I am now going to test if giving that account no UAC control if i still get this error. IF that happens then my guess was right that the UAC is causing the issue. Then the only question comes in can you figure out how apps like AnyDVD run at startup with out this limitation. If so then that would be the way i would say to get around this bugger of a issue.

    Addendum:

    Alright yet again here are my finding. Just as with the Admin account with the UAC off i dont get any prompts about needing the rights for iReboot to run. So it is totally the UAC that is causing this issue for you Guru. Find a way around it like AnyDVD, uTorrent or any of those other apps that dont get prompted for rights upon startup and you are golden.
    Last edited by Mak 2.0; October 28th, 2007 at 04:06 PM. Reason: Automagically-merged double-post.
    ~Alex~ .:Forum Moderator:..:Guinea Pig for Testing:.
    I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my Spaces page! .
    This is what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.




    All your posts are belong to NeoSmart!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    uTorrent needs admin rights?
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Source
    Posts
    4,267

     

    No it doesnt. That is what i am trying to get at. It will run on startup without admin rights. If you can figure out how they did that then you can get iReboot to work that way and this wont be a issue anymore.
    ~Alex~ .:Forum Moderator:..:Guinea Pig for Testing:.
    I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my Spaces page! .
    This is what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.




    All your posts are belong to NeoSmart!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Ah, see that's the problem.

    You can't run iReboot at all, at any time without admin rights, that's what I was trying to explain above.

    iReboot requires admin rights to be able to do what it does. Windows Vista doesn't let an application that requires elevation to run at startup if UAC is enabled -- and there's the problem.

    iReboot needs admin, and needs startup. Vista won't let an app that needs admin run at startup if UAC is enabled.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Source
    Posts
    4,267

     

    What about something like Avast. Doesnt that need Admin right? There has to be a way for Vista to run a application with elevated rights at all times if it is needed.

    John Robbins' Blog : Elevate a Process at the Command Line in Vista

    Something like this. Elevate is what he calls it. Isnt there a way to incorporate that into iReboot and make it run with elevated rights full time to bypass this nag from the UAC?

    Windows Vista - ConsentPromptBehavior ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin UAC

    That has some very interesting info as well.

    Making Self-Extracting Packages for Windows Vista compatible with UAC

    This might be useful as well. Just some ideas on how to get past the UAC and get iReboot to work with UAC on but not get bugged by it on every startup.
    ~Alex~ .:Forum Moderator:..:Guinea Pig for Testing:.
    I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my Spaces page! .
    This is what happens when an unstoppable force meets an immovable object.




    All your posts are belong to NeoSmart!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    I'm already doing what the last link recommends - it's what makes iReboot request elevation in the first place and not simply fail when you try to run it with UAC installed.

    At the moment, this is what iReboot does.

    Run. Put in a request for elevation. If not given, exit. If given, save it in a safe place.
    When iReboot needs to modify bootloader settings (every time you change an option in it), it'll reuse the saved elevation.

    The (very crappy) way MS designed UAC, my only other option is as follows:
    Run iReboot without elevation (no problem running it at startup now). When a user attempts to change an iReboot option, ask for elevation. When a user changes another option, ask for elevation again.

    I opted for the former, because the latter can quickly get very, very annoying for end users.

    Unfortunately (unlike on Linux) Microsoft has not made it possible for users to mark an application as trusted and that though it requires admin rights it can be run by normal users.

    This option exists in Windows Server 2003, but not in Vista or LH Server.

    I am genuinely stumped, because Microsoft did this on purpose. The only way around it is to install kernel drivers, and I'm not about to do that!

    Here's where the UAC program manager touts this as an amazing and ingenious bit of research and an awesome way to give users an all-around better experience:
    Elevations Are Now Blocked in the User's Logon Path - KezNews.com

    I want some of what he's smoking..... He recommends running programs "asInvoker" meaning the program itself checks what rights a user has and only lets them do stuff within those boundaries.... But WTF do you do when your program does just one thing, and it requires admin rights??

    Obviously he never bothered to write a system-managment program on Vista!
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4

     

    I cannot help with the implementation stuff of UAC, but I pondered the possibilities you mentioned. Two questions:
    1. Isn't it possible to save the elevation with the second option as well?
    2. Why does the second option get annoying? There are at most two settings a user will change during a session: "Reboot on selection yes/no" (he will probably do this only once) and choosing the OS to boot next time.
    So if (1) is not possible, I would prefer entering my password when choosing a OS to boot. The 99% of my time where I don't choose an OS to boot, I don't have to do anything.

    Just my 2c
    Bernd

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Unfortunately, you can't save the elevation request if it's running asInvoker.

    That's definitely possible - I'll look into it some more and keep everyone posted.

    Thanks for the feedback
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

     

    This topic hasn't been updated lately. Any new info?

    I just installed iReboot and of course, I see the same problem - it gets blocked on boot up. But, are you sure this is an elevation issue? What I'm seeing isn't an issue with administrative access, it's because the program is unsigned.

    When I run the program manually (from the Start menu), I get the "An unidentified program wants access to your computer" window asking me to allow or deny. This is a UAC window, but it's asking me if I trust the program. This is different than asking me to elevate it's status to administrator. So, as best I can tell, it's because the program isn't signed, that's why it isn't loading at boot. Either that, or it's a combo of administrator elevation and being unsigned.

    Or, am I totally off here.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,322

     

    Hi Darkoz, welcome to NeoSmart Technologies!

    What you see when you run EasyBCD is a UAC prompt for an admin-elevation request coming from a unsigned app. If it were signed, you'd still see a UAC prompt for admin-elevation - it just wouldn't be that garish shade of yellow.


    As to the topic:
    Antivirus programs get around this restriction by installing a driver or service and interacting with it. The service runs, as all services do, with the system account which needs no elevation. The client program runs in user mode and communicates with the service, thereby eliminating any need for elevation in the first place.

    So, yeah, it's an elevation issue. And I still have no idea what's the best way of dealing with it :/


    The good news is.... well not much. But MS has finally drafed up decent documentation for this which says "You stupid developers, you cannot ever run a program with elevation at startup!!":

    In previous versions of Windows, independent software vendors (ISVs) may have elected to place programs in the user logon path to ensure that they run each time a user logs on. While this solution may be convenient, it often results in application compatibility problems when the user is not an administrator. In addition, research also shows that a growing number of enterprise customers want to deploy their desktops as standard user. This poses a growing problem for applications that require administrator privilege to run in the user logon path, not only on Windows Vista, but also on previous version of Windows. These applications will fail to run and make configuration and administration more difficult. When a user logs on, applications that require elevated privileges, and are in the user logon path, require a full administrator access token. As a result, the user is displayed a User Account Control dialog box either requesting approval or credentials. To compound the problem, the user has no way to tie the elevation request to a specific application. To avoid this poor user experience, Windows Vista blocks applications that require elevation in the user logon path. This functionality also helps thwart malicious software that may place itself in the user logon path.
    Sorry, but I thought it was up to the developer to decide what type of user experience their programs have??!?

    From here: Developing Applications that Run at Logon on Windows Vista


    Their solution is, as I had previously deduced, to write a service engine to do this behavior for me.


    *breathes*

    This is possible, and not the end of the world. I've written plenty of services before (ToolTipFixer is one) but it just takes time......

    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

     

    Makes sense, except that I set iReboot to run as administrator, and it still gives me the unknown app request when I run it manually.

    Regardless, I suppose then the easy answer is don't ask to be elevated until the user actaully changes a setting. Seems the main purpose of iReboot is to actually reboot the PC, so when ever I do this in Vista, I don't mind clicking on iReboot to select my new OS, and then accepting the elevation request at that point and having iReboot then reboot my PC for me (that's what iReboot is for). What is really anoying, though, is having to accept and run the program every time on boot up.

    Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. [Not a Bug] iReboot Startup Issue In Windows 7
    By Ex_Brit in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: February 14th, 2009, 05:07 PM
  2. Vista startup
    By DoctorBrodsky in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 18th, 2008, 02:22 AM
  3. No video on Vista 64 startup
    By jpaquette in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 20th, 2008, 09:06 AM
  4. Remove iReboot From Startup
    By johnywhy in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 9th, 2008, 04:40 PM
  5. iReboot Doesn't Run on Startup
    By rossi46 in forum BugCentral
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 30th, 2007, 03:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •