Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Installed new MOBO and now windows is asking for boot disk Vista os

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Installed new MOBO and now windows is asking for boot disk Vista os

    Aloha
    My computer shut off one night and nothing worked except when I tried to turn it on all I got was a 1 second flash of lights. So I thought it was the PSU, still the same thing changed the CPU and the same thing, left the cpu out and it started up but of course no monitor, needed the cpu? So I purchased a invidia mobo. Installed it and it turns on but it says I need to insert boot disk?
    I pushed key board f-? keys and got a launch start up repair screen and proceeded to let windows correct problem the message I got is
    Root cause found
    Start up repair has tried several times but still cannnot determine the cause of the problem
    System disk=\device\harddisk0
    Windows directory =c:\windows
    Autochk run = 0
    Number of root causes = 1
    I am lost should I consider a new hard drive and if so is it possible to retrieve my information off the old hd?
    Thanks
    Marty

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13,323

     

    Try turning off AHCI in the BIOS.
    Mahmoud Al-Qudsi, Director



    I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages

    Follow us on twitter @neosmart or on Facebook!
    Like us on facebook!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    23

     

    If it is a different mobo, Windows probably won't want to boot anymore because the hardware differences are too great. I've seen this before. The data should still be there. If you have another computer you could back up the data. If not, you could try the Vista repair install, but things will probably still be quirky, but at least you could then back up your data. If it were me, I would boot to a Linux Live CD, mount the drive, burn the data to media or copy to another drive, then format and reinstall Windows, to save the hassle. It depends on your preference, of course.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 + Hard Disk with Previously Installed XP
    By grazueickap in forum EasyBCD Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: February 5th, 2010, 05:24 AM
  2. Windows 7 installed on 2nd hard disk
    By lasthours in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 26th, 2009, 12:07 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 28th, 2009, 01:43 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 14th, 2009, 12:26 PM
  5. Vista 64Bit/Asus MOBO problems
    By Lunchbox in forum Windows Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 30th, 2008, 01:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •