EasyBCD not detecting Ubuntu

Discussion in 'EasyBCD Support' started by ra1vi2, May 9, 2017.

  1. ra1vi2

    ra1vi2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I have Ubuntu 16.04 and Windows 8 pre-installed in my system. I installed EasyBCD on windows 8 so that I can change the order of boot sequence.
    Currently it shows Windows 8 on top , but I want Ubuntu on top and then window 8.

    But when I open EasyBCD it does not detect ubuntu, it only shows windows 8. I have tried adding new entry but it didn't help. Please help.
     
  2. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,236
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Are you actually booting via MS W8 bootmgr, or through Ubuntu's grub ?
     
  3. ra1vi2

    ra1vi2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry Sir, from next time I will post there only.

    I am booting using MS w8.
     
  4. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,236
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    OK If you are definitely seeing a W8 boot menu like either of these
    http://cdn.howtogeek.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/sshot179.png
    http://asset3.cbsistatic.com/cnwk.1d/i/tim/2012/09/13/Windows_8_dual-boot_menu_610x460.png
    and both Windows and grub appear as options, but ubuntu doesn't show in EasyBCD, then you probably have EasyBCD looking in the wrong place.
    Check EasyBCD > Tools > Options and make sure you haven't got something specified in the "automatically load...." field, which will force EasyBCD to use a BCD other than the "live" system BCD.
    You can also use EasyBCD > File > "Load system BCD" to make sure you're looking at the one that's actually being used to boot the PC.
    If however your menu looks like this
    http://www.techotopia.com/images/3/37/Ubuntu_11_dual_boot_menu.jpg
    then you're actually dual booting via grub, and you'll need to update the grub menu to edit the order.
     
  5. ra1vi2

    ra1vi2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
  6. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,236
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Best if you go to Ubuntu's own forum for that advice.
    My own Linux experience is from many years ago and before grub2 took over from legacy grub.
    There's a very comprehensive grub2 guide here
    Grub 2 Basics
    of which section 5 is relevant to you.
    Note that although all the grub menu options are in grub.cfg, that is not what you alter.
    That's a system file which can be modified at any time by Ubuntu patches, losing your updates.
    You should use the /etc/ file mentioned.
    That's for users, and grub will merge any changes you make into the /cfg/ file dynamically during boot.
     

Share This Page