Help with Dual Boot?

leahnc

Ive tried following the online tutorials to have Vista boot first / but I must be missing something?

I installed Ubuntu without problems. When booting up I have 10 seconds to decide which OS to boot then Ubuntu boots if I dont do anything. Which is fine, but my husband uses Vista & prefers it to boot first

Ive downloaded Easy BCD in Vista, but it is my understanding I need to configure something in Ubuntu before using it? Can someone walk me thru this or point me to a tutorial that I can follow :??

Im brand new to this so any help is much appreciated!

Hi leahnc, welcome to NST.
What bootloader are you using to dual boot ? bootmgr from Vista or grub from Ubuntu ? (there should be a clue somewhere on the boot menu page)

Addendum:

If it's grub, you'll find a guide here. If it's bootmgr, then this is one of the things that Vista does provide you with a simple way of doing, that means you can manage without EasyBCD. (though it will also make it easy for you of course)
Control Panel \ System \Advanced system settings \ Advanced \ Startup and Recovery. Then choose the default OS from the dropdown list.

Last edited:
Thanks for the quick response!

It is Grub

I will follow the link you sent me & post back to let you know if I figured things out!

Thanks for helping a Newbie! :smile:

I ran into the same problem here when seeing ubuntu load when booting from the other drive that was installed and saw the option to boot into Vista there. Grub would need to be configured to point at the Vista boot loader on the primary drive here.