I reboot connects to internet

Discussion in 'Other NeoSmart-Related Support' started by kuyo, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. kuyo

    kuyo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello ,

    I am sorry to come marchin in like this but I couldn't find my answer.

    I have a short question:

    Why does Ireboot connect to internet and why does it stop working after I block it with my firewall?

    Greets from holland.
     
  2. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    It's a long time since I last used iReboot, so can't be sure, but does it have a "check for updates" option which you haven't unticked ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  3. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,615
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
  4. kuyo

    kuyo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the response.

    That's insightfull.
    Only I use winXP and I didn't know it used UAC.
    But I guess it's still the way it's programmed to get around the security.

    But now that I know I can sleep again :)
     
  5. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,615
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    If you really don't want this, you can use iReboot 1.0 which did not have that feature.
     
  6. kuyo

    kuyo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I am trying 1.0 now.

    Since recently I need my computer to wake up on certain moments when I want to acess files with my mediastreamer.
    Only I found out that some processes easily cause my computer to wake up with the wake enabled on my lan card..
    Ireboot was one of the supsects for this to happen so maybe 1.0 will fix this.
    It is one of those programs that I just want to keep in the taskbar and don't worry about it, so I can access it quickly when I need it.
     
  7. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    13,615
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    I don't think iReboot 1.1 would have caused that. iReboot doesn't open a port on the physical network adapter, it uses the local loopback IP 127.0.0.1 which won't trigger a WoL call to the physical LAN adapter.
     

Share This Page