Is it possible to re-install Vista?

oko

Sorry if this is a stupid question - I'm not very technically gifted.
I have just bought an HP dc7800, which of course comes with Vista pre-installed, but no installation disks. I want to de-install Vista, and install XP, with which I am familiar. However, seeing that I paid for Vista, I would like to retain the possibility of re-installing it at some stage in the future. Is this possible without a PhD?
I've made a Vista Recovery Disk (thanks neosmart), and verified that it boots, and I've also made a full backup to 2 DVDs. Now what?

The only way to see XP go on there without losing the original preinstall of Vista would be through the use of a 3rd party drive partitioning tool(recommend for this) in order to shrink the Vista primary somewhat and create a new second primary for XP to install onto. Once installed to the new primary that would make XP the default OS until you wanted to restore the Vista mbr.

You can even setup a working dual boot of both with the EasyBCD tool available here. The important thing to remember however is not to remove the recovery partition from the drive in order to prevent voiding the warranty and still be able to restore the factory install later. A dual boot would be recommended over replacing Vista while the warranty is still in effect.

Thanks a lot, PC Eye. Dual booting sounds like a good idea. Can you recommend a partitioning tool? I believe Partition Magic doesn't work on Vista.

If you want to or get rid of Vista accidently all together our vista disc cannot be used to re-install it as it is only meant for repairs. I would boot from your recovery partition as if you were going to do a factory re-set first even if you are keeping Vistas partition to see if there's an option to burn recovery discs in the event something does happen that makes it impossible later on to recover the orginal install of Vista.