issue with dual booting vista and xp

elmaestro

hello im new at this dual booting thing and i felt in a issue which was i cant dual boot now, I had xp installed already in the computer and so i partitioned the hard drive on my laptop and so i installed vista succesfully but when i was at tha point of changing the name of Earlier version of windows to windows xp ( when i boot up my computer) I accidently deleted the entry of windows xp (Earlier version of windows) and so now i can only boot on vista not on my original xp. I Would dearly appreciate your time in helping me resolve this issue. anyone who is available if you could take a bit of ur time please help.. Thanks in advance. P.s I was asked to look for guru? Thank you any one :scared:

Hi maestro,
You don't say how you deleted the entry, are you using EasyBCD already ? If not the first step is to download a copy and run it. If you've already got it and accidentally deleted your entry with it, you can just add one back again on the add/remove entries menu in the add an entry section.
Its a good idea to read Raul's dual-boot primer too so you'll have a better idea of what it is you're actually doing.
http://neosmart.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1203
Welcome to the forum by the way.

well i deleted the entry by mistake by going to add/remove entries and clicked on Earlier version of Windows thinking i would then rename it but now i received this message in the legacy entries
;
;Warning: Boot.ini is used on Windows XP and earlier operating systems.
;Warning: Use BCDEDIT.exe to modify Windows Vista boot options.
;
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Windows XP Media Center Edition" /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT

I would really appreciate if you could help me..