New to vista... having problems

gunnar

I am not very good with computers and vista especially. I got a new sony computer with vista pre-installed and have had troubles with it from the start. I am unable to download anything onto the computer. When attempting to install anything i get the windows installer screen and it says preparing to install... and it does not change. This is when I am doing anything from loading a file online to a cd i put into the drive. My first thought was to restore the computer to the original settings, but the restore center installed freezes and does not work, and the usb drives do not detect anything. Since it was pre-installed i have no vista or boot disks. I have to get vista reinstalled on the computer or fix this problem without downloading anything onto the computer... any suggestions? I have another sony computer available with vista on it if that helps.

Issues...Issues...

:rage: I've Read your post as i'm a curious monkey...and my first thought that came to mind is this...Major Issue!

First things first. I'm going to know what OS are you running...i.e. what version of Vista. 32bits, 64bits, you can find that info in the control panel under the systems tab.

Secondly, you wrote that when you download a file or execute a file from the CD drive your system can not install from that drive and just goes to freeze up on install. If that's the case, i suspect a viral or malware issue on the computer and you'd enjoy performing a thorough virus scan using a up to date virus detection software. All sectors of the PC as to be scanned, disk boot sectors, system memory also, and all partitions.

If no viruses are found nowhere, and or quarantined, and problems persist, you would have to perform a Vista recovery at that point, your pc would go back to original state.

At this point, your second laptop is no savy saviour and is useless to recover a Vista OS.