Nightmare

Tried to install Fedora 10 as dual boot with Vista 64. Couple of thoughts:

I am a video motion graphics designer who wants to try a few demos on Linux (Autodesk Alias, Toxic) to see how they work on Linux, (IE, to see if they're faster, so that I can be more creative.)

However, because of this process, I seem to be trapped in a nerd nightmare from which there is no escape.

Here's the problem:
1) Nerds are the only ones that use Linux.
2) They are no good at explaining processes to non-nerds.

Hence the endless loop I'm stuck in.

For example, although claiming to be user friendly, this software is only user-friendly to people who enjoy partitioning hard disks. Also, it is useless to me, since it only goes to Fedora 8. Fedora 10 has a subtly different install process, without the minor bootloader screens present in the Fedora 10 install process. /sarcasm (yuk yuk)

Anyway, I pathetically attempted to follow the instructions to install Fedora as a dual boot with Vista. Since the Fedora 10 screens aren't the same as shown in the installation guide, I stumbled through and probably did many wrong things. (The partitioning instructions are laughably incomplete to a non-nerd) It did seem like Fedora installed on the partition I created. Fortunately, Vista still loaded. I ran Easy BCD and tried to do Grub, then NeoGrub, but each time the Vista Bootloader told me that the boot failed.

At $100 per hour my rate x 10 wasted hours, I'm up to $1000 for this free solution. Could have hired quite a few nerds to install it for me, but no, want to learn a little bit about Linux. Too bad I can't get the *(#*$ thing installed! All I know so far is that I hate it.

Anyway, maybe it's my new Dell XPS Studio i7 with 12GB of RAM that's causing it to not work. Really have no way of knowing. If so, I apologise to any nerds I might have offended.

Here's how this software should work for non-programmers and creative professionals like myself.