Triple Boot with XP/Vista/Ubuntu

1slyfox

I am attempting to use the Vista Boot Manager to triple boot between XP, Vista, and Ubuntu. My first plan was to add some free space on my Nvidia SATA Raid (Raid 0). However, Ubuntu didn’t recognize my raid, and I didn’t want to risk corrupting my Raid. I’m new to Linux, so please keep that in mind. I know there are some additional linux driver support for raid setups (I may toy with those later), but this is what I did for now:

I already had XP installed on my Raid. I went out and bought Vista and installed it (I had to use partition magic to set aside some space for it). I would have used GPARTED, but it wouldn’t see my raid correctly. The boot manager now shows “Vista”, and “An earlier version of windows (I later used EasyBCD to label as XP)”. So now I have:

- Vista and XP on my 300gb sata raid
- Ubuntu Linux on an old 40gb ATA drive I had lying around

I had no problems installing Ubuntu to the ATA drive, and it boots fine if I tell the BIOS to boot directly from that drive.

I’m trying to use EasyBCD 1.52 to allow me to boot Ubuntu from the Vista Boot Manager as well, I’ve added the drive and partition info into the linux tab, but when I reboot and choose it, I just get a blinking cursor in the left corner. It installs a directory and file on the “Windows XP” MBR drive, but I’m not sure if I’m missing something. I assume the boot manager refers to that file when I choose Ubuntu from the boot screen, and points it to GRUB on the other physical drive. Please let me know if there is a simple setup I can enter to correct my problem. I’m sure it’s a simple fix, but I’m pounding my head against the desk right about now.

Hi 1slyfox,
Yeah, it's a simple enough thing: from a Linux CD or Recovery Disc run the program
Code:
grub-install /dev/hdxy
to install Grub on the y partition of x drive.
Then in EasyBCD add a Linux entry @ x+1 drive with y partition.

Thanks for the quick reply Guru,