usb external dvd player blocks boot

gopher38

Hello all,

I'm new to linux, dual booting and all the rest, but I've managed to get Ubuntu and Vista dual booting on my HP dv9000 with EasyBCD. Boots with Vista as a default, with option to flip to Ubuntu. My problem is that, if I have a usb external DVD writer plugged into the computer, it blocks while trying to read from DVD player (even if it's empty). I never even get to the EasyBCD screen where I can pick the operating system. If I then unplug the DVD, the boot process will go forward. Also, after I've booted into either Vista or Ubuntu, I can then plug the DVD player back in and it works fine. I never had this problem before I installed Ubuntu and EasyBCD. I assume that the problem is related to EasyBCD and not Ubuntu, since the problem comes right at the beginning.

Any ideas anyone? Thanks.

Hi gopher, welcome to NST.

Actually, this problem is occurring even before EasyBCD's bootloader is loaded.
You need to go into your BIOS and disable the option of booting from a removable USB drive.

Hello Mr. Guru,

Thanks for the reply. Perhaps I'm dense, but it doesn't appear as though I can disable USB boots in my BIOS. I can disable CD-ROM boots and Network boots, and I can change the order of all the different types (HD, USB floppy, USB drive, network, etc), but I can't disable any of the USB boot sources (or I'm too stupid to figure out how). I tried moving the USB sources to the bottom of the boot list, but it still tries to read from the USB drive and blocks. Does this sound possible to you? Could it be possible that you can't disable UBS boots? If it truly isn't possible to disable USB boots, do I have any other options?

Also, does anyone know why this would be causing a problem now, when it never did in the past?

Thanks for replying. I appreciate it.

In response to your question, no, I can't disable all removable devices. I'll tell you what I've done so far, because the whole thing is a bit curious.