vista recovery disk ?

Discussion in 'Windows Support' started by pitagoras, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. pitagoras

    pitagoras New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,i just download the recovery disk for vista and can't boot from the cd.
    I do almost everything you said to do but nothing happens:

    1:My computers boots in regular basics
    2:acer aspire 5315
    3:vista home basics
    4:32 bits
    5:service pack 1

    any help thanks.
     
  2. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
  3. LydiaQ

    LydiaQ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded therecovery disk too, and starts to install, but asks me for a product key #. Have any idea why? and where I get the product key from? Thanks
     
  4. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    You cannot use "install" from the recovery disk. It is not a free copy of Vista. It contains no installation files.
    You can only use the "repair your computer" link (bottom left)
     
  5. pitagoras

    pitagoras New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes i do but i cant make the computer boot from de cd or i have to make a copy on dvd the computer supouse to read both. thanks.

    P.D the real problem is that one i can boot from the cd.Thanks again.
     
  6. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Check whether the CD boots on another working computer. (you should see a message "press any key to boot from CD")
    Check that the BIOS on your broken computer is set to boot CD before HDD.
     
  7. pitagoras

    pitagoras New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the cd on other pc with win-7 and only open the files not the boot page,in the broken one dont do anything.By the way how do i get to bios and how to change the cd boot?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Terry60

    Terry60 Coastline Designer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,573
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    On the first spash screen you see as you power up, there should be instructions.
    (on my ASUS it says Press "del" to enter setup) Other manufacturers use F2 F10 F11 F12.
    Once in the BIOS, look for the "boot" section
     
  9. pitagoras

    pitagoras New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ijust went to the boot section(f2) change the boot to cd and nothing happen i think i quit i cant expend more time on this thanks anyway.
     

Share This Page