Vista - Xp Dual Boot. Boot.ini Question

drvajra

I have been having immense problems installing XP in a Vista pre-installed computer. After reading the many threads, I realize I am not alone!

After seeing some very useful threads in this Forum, I have the hope that I may find the help I need here.

Briefly, my computer is DELL XPS 420. It came with an 500 GIG HD. It had 3 partitions.
1. EISA Configuration 63MB
2.RECOVERY D: 15 GB
3. OS C: The remaining GBs.

To install XP in a separate partition, I have created one more partition F: 321 GB (The Disk Management identifies this as a Logical partition).

So, to summarize, I have (or I believe I have) 4 partitions. The Vista is in C:, and the non-working XP is in F: . I am not sure if the EISA 63 MB is counted as a 'partition' - you may enlighten me on that. (I am a novice).

I was able to install XP the first time with the bootable disk, but as Vista stopped working, I had to repair Vista and got it working, but then XP couldn't be installed. Since then, needless to say, I have not been able to re-install XP no matter what I tried.

To get Vista working I did the following in the command line

bootrec.exe /fixMBR
bootrec.exe /fixBoot
and after restarting,
cmd.exe
and the following
bcdedit -set {ntldr} device partition =C:
bcdedit -set {ntldr} path \ntldr
bcdedit -displayorder {ntldr} -addlast

I must say I was playing with Vista Boot Pro 3.3 and EasyBCD 1.7.2 trying various things, but nothing worked.

The boot.ini file in C: according to EasyBCD is:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

I am wondering if 'rdisk' and partition () are correct in the boot.ini file for my computer.

EasyBCD gives this as well: