Windows 7 install while XP still installed

CQuinn

When installing windows 7 (64bit) I decided that rather than try to copy all of my settings and program installation info I would just get a new (second) hard drive, format and partition it under xp then install windows 7 on it.

What I didn’t realize was that I should disconnect the XP hard drive BEFORE installing 7.

Now Windows 7 is installed, along with all my program files and configurations and I would like to erase the windows xp partition on the other hard drive. My disc configuration looks like this –

Capture.jpg

Whenever I try to just disconnect the XP hard drive and boot up in Windows 7 I get this error message "NTLDR missing (press Ctrl-Alt-Del)." After reading for awhile on the net I came across your site and EasyBCD. I’m not a novice but I don’t want to proceed thinking I know what I’m doing when in fact I don’t. Often times I’ve made only one simple mistake in the procedure and – wham – no system at all. Would prefer not to have to go through that again. So am asking for step by step help in how to resolve this.

My aim here is to eliminate the old XP partition (now labeled ‘D’) and add that space to the adjacent partition ‘E’. I have partitioning software to accomplish that task provided I can get the boot sorted. I’m not looking for a dual boot system as discussed in some other threads

Here’s a shot of my opening screen on EasyBCD

Get the latest version of EasyBCD from here > BCD Install/Repair > Change Boot Drive > Perform Action.

If you reboot to find its still not working make sure this drive is first in BIOS boot order. Get our recovery disc from here and follow the instructions here to perform startup repair.

Thanks for the help. I'll give it a try and let you know.