Windows XP unable to boot

Discussion in 'EasyBCD Support' started by RayRainer, Dec 31, 2017.

  1. RayRainer

    RayRainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello: I am unable to boot from Windows XP pro using EasyBCD 2.3 I get the message that wants to repair Windows XP even though it boots and works fine on it's own. It says Windows failed to start. Info: the selected entry would not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt.

    It could be because of how I installed each operating system. I had Windows 7 pro on it originally, then I installed Windows XP on the same sata "0" port by pulling out the cable but using a different SSD drive for each. I originally was just going to install Windows XP, then install Windows 7 which creates its own boot loader. I then hated the idea of installing Windows 7 all over again and decided to try EasyBCD. I also noticed that EasyBCD cannot be installed on Windows XP.

    I am able to start up each operating system individually when I place them in sata "0" port but when I place Windows 7 in sata port 0 and Windows XP in sata port 2, it gives those messages. It is an Dell Optiplex 960. I have a 120gb SSD drive for Windows 7 and a micro 1.8 60gb drive for Windows XP. The BIOS is not set ACHI which I know presents problems with Windows XP, so it is set to ATA. Windows XP would not have installed had I used ACHI anyway. Any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. Terry60

    Terry60 Knows where his towel is. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,267
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
  3. RayRainer

    RayRainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I mentioned in my comment that I "did not" enable ACHI in the BIOS, so that is not an issue. As I mentioned, both Windows XP and Windows 7 individually boots when I connect them to sata port 0 but not when I use EasyBD to boot both operating system. However, EasyBD will boot Windows 7, but not Windows XP.
     
  4. Terry60

    Terry60 Knows where his towel is. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,267
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    Did you use EasyBCD to add an XP entry to W7's BCD ?
    If so, did you let it "auto-configure" and then leave the entry untouched ?
    If not, delete the failing XP entry, and add it again (as above).
     
  5. RayRainer

    RayRainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for response but I am not understanding what "auto-configure" means. I did use EasyBCDto add an XP entry to W7. I did delete the failing XP entry but I am stuck at your suggestion of "auto-configure.
     
  6. Terry60

    Terry60 Knows where his towel is. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,267
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    When you select the XP dropdown from EasyBCD > Add New Entry, there's an "automatically detect...." box to tick.
     
  7. RayRainer

    RayRainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I finally saw the light. For some reason, I wasn't dropping down under "Type" in "add new entry" to Windows XP. Then you see "automatically detect drive". Thanks again for your time.
     
  8. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,360
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicago

Share This Page