Tripple booting with Vista, XP, Ubuntu on three separate drives

isg0nnarain

Hi Guys,

I'm a complete noob to this forum and was wondering if someone would be able to help me with a tripple booting problem.

I have a SAGER NP9262 with three 300GB (298.09 GB actual) separate drives. The first drive has Windows XP SP3 (32bit) the second drive has Vista Ultimate (64bit) and the third drive has been reserved for Ubuntu.

I am beginner to linux but need to install Ubuntu for one of my online courses.

I figured since I would be installing Ubuntu on a separate drive, there would be no problem. I was wrong.

I got up to the partitioning part and choose guided. Everything was going well but I must have installed GRUB on the wrong boot loader (even though I clearly remember installing it on the windows longhorn boot loader). After installation my laptop booted up and showed a black screen with just GRUB locking all keys except alt-ctrl-del. So then to fix this problem I just inserted my Vista disk and ran fixmbr.

Now I'm back to where I started. After doing some searching I came to this forum and to EasyBCD.

So now for my question: If I want to install Ubuntu and use EasyBCD how would I do so. Could someone tell me in detail or link to a site that shows the steps? Should I install EasyBCD first? If so where should I install it, XP or Vista?

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Hi Guys,

I'm a complete noob to this forum and was wondering if someone would be able to help me with a tripple booting problem.

I have a SAGER NP9262 with three 300GB (298.09 GB actual) separate drives. The first drive has Windows XP SP3 (32bit) the second drive has Vista Ultimate (64bit) and the third drive has been reserved for Ubuntu.

I am beginner to linux but need to install Ubuntu for one of my online courses.

I figured since I would be installing Ubuntu on a separate drive, there would be no problem. I was wrong.