iReboot 2.0 Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Ideas and Wishlists' started by mqudsi, May 27, 2010.

  1. German User

    German User New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But this causes my computer to start the operating system specified as target upon next start.
    Also after turn my computer off and start it again later.

    This will keep me in one operating system whenever I start my computer - or am I wrong?
    I'm going to test it - now.
    I will post a report here.

    Edit Report:
    That's it:
    Using this I will have the same effect on using "Neu starten" and "Ausschalten".
    There's no diffrence between "Neu starten" and "Ausschalten".
    I'm reaching the same operating system but I want to XP on "Neu starten" the Bootmanager on "Ausschalten".

    Is there actually a way?
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  2. JustinW

    JustinW Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ US
    The above allows you to use the reboot option from the windows menu there to reboot into the current OS and you would use the shortcuts you've created if you wanted something different.

    Yes, turning on the computer later might start that OS. If this is a problem you'll need to stick to your shortcuts only or use the menu if you don't mind running iReboot at startup.
     
  3. German User

    German User New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay...
    That's okay. I will have to use the tray bar icons menu then.
     
  4. KeesC

    KeesC New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have been looking for 'sticky' reboots for a long time, so I thought I'd join the forum to ask a question.
    Now I see that ireboot 2.0 is sticky: GREAT. Tried Beta 19 at once on my Win 7 32 bit.
    But:
    Q1:how does it work? It seems only via command line. The icon in the system tray does nothing: no reacion on right- and left-clicks.
    Q2: why not just add a 'Reboot sticky' checkbox like the 'Reboot on selection' checkbox on the rightclick of the icon?
     
  5. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,340
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicago
    The reboot sticky option is available in the config file, I don't want to clutter up the UI. I may do something like OS X where if you hold down alt while opening a menu you'll see more advanced options.

    The current beta build has some issues, that's probably why you're not seeing the menu.
     
  6. visormail

    visormail New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, same situation here. Win 7 x86 SP1 iReboot build 19 gui doesn't work, from command line also doesn't work, the service doesn't run.
    With build 17 both working.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  7. Jim Walker

    Jim Walker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What is the status of iBoot 2.0? From the associated datestamps it look like work has been suspended on it.
     
  8. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,340
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicago
    More or less. The released iReboot works really well for almost everyone. I may just update that one a little instead.
     
  9. allardb

    allardb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Heemstede, Netherlands
    iReboot 2.0 Beta - sitting quietly in Task Manager

    When iReboot runs in the system tray, it doesn't respond to any mouse action.
    Nor can I instruct iReboot with a command line switch. It then just starts a new instance.
    The build is 19, OS is W7(64).

    What can I do?

    allard

    Addendum

    Build 17 works.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
  10. Ex_Brit

    Ex_Brit Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,811
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Air Canada (Rtrd: 2001)
    Location:
    Toronto
    So you're OK now?
     
  11. twalp

    twalp New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any chance you'll add command line options to iReboot so we can use it from desktop (or "ObjectDock") shortcuts?
     
  12. jgcjr

    jgcjr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgetown,Twxas
    Is it possible to add a IREBOOT icon to a Win 7 64 bit desktop?
     
  13. mqudsi

    mqudsi Mostly Harmless Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,340
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicago
  14. Marc Elser

    Marc Elser New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi,

    I'm using iReboot 2.0.1.42 on Windows 10 64-bit and starts the tray icon at boot and works fine. But as I want to reboot to some os from scheduled tasks I wanted to use command-line options. I thought this should work according to the command line specification in the iReboot 2.0 beta thread but it only start a second tray bar icon and does nothing apart from that. What am I doing wrong?

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\NeoSmart Technologies\iReboot\iReboot.exe" /reboot yes /sticky no /target {05df7a09-e2da-11e5-bcff-847113f35172}

    That target I took from EasyBCD simple view. So what I want is to boot directly into the target os when the shortcut is executed withouth making this choice sticky.

    Edit:
    I also tried with {current} as target and removed sticky. I also closed the tray-icon prior to executing the shortcut with always the same result. It just starts the tray icon, nothing more. I also tried runinng the shortcut as admin but as iReboot should just contact a service this should not be needed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
  15. HMR

    HMR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to add iReboot shortcut on desktop? So that executing it would lead to rebooting to certain OS (rather than using tray icon)?
    On the last page, mqusdi says:
    "You just create a shortcut to iReboot.exe. In the shortcut properties, just modify the "path" to add the command line arguments.".
    Looks like exactly what I need, only, I have no idea what are those "command line arguments".
    Could someone help here?
    Thanks!!!
     
  16. Terry60

    Terry60 Knows where his towel is. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    10,255
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Retired System Programmer
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
  17. Jonh Wick

    Jonh Wick New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank U!!!
     

Share This Page