On occasion, it might become necessary to delete menu entries from EasyBCD. There are a few reasons why you’d want to do that, some of examples include
- No longer needing an operating system that was previously part of a dual-boot (e.g. Windows XP or Linux)
- Removing an incorrect, invalid, or corrupt menu entry
- Experimenting with EasyBCD and adding entries you don’t really want
- Creating single-use entries to perform specific tasks, and cleaning them up later
Deleting an entry with EasyBCD is a one-click operation. Simply launch EasyBCD, and go to the “Edit Boot Menu” page:
Select the entry you’d like to delete, and press the big, red “Delete” button in the top-right corner of the screen. You’ll be presented with a confirmation dialog to ensure that you did not mistakenly select this button, and after confirming your action the entry will be removed from both EasyBCD and your boot menu. Any references to this entry in the software will also be removed.
Deleting a menu entry to another operating system in EasyBCD does not actually delete the operating system itself! Provided you haven’t formatted the partition in question, you can simply re-create the menu entry to boot into it at any time. Conversely, if you want to permanently remove this OS, you still need to format the partition in question to reclaim the space and destroy the data.
At this point, you will no longer see the option of booting into this entry when turning on your PC. If you no longer have more than one entry, the boot menu itself will be hidden and you will automatically be booted into the remaining OS.